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What Experts Are Saying About Parent Involvement 

 Experts on young driver behavior are in substantial agreement that more effective parental involvement in 
mentoring novice drivers holds significant promise for further reducing young driver crashes.  

Source: Journal of Safety Research 34(1), (2003), 107-115 

 Understanding the risks associated with teen driving as well as appreciating the complexity of state laws 
governing novice drivers can be an eye-opening experience for a parent. Creating a greater awareness and 
understanding of policies such as GDL laws will go a long way in assisting parents to help their children become 
safer drivers.                Source: Protecting Teen Drivers, A Guidebook for State Highway Safety Offices, (2010) 

 Parent - Teen Interactions May Cut Teen Crash Risk In Half: 
Two new studies reveal that teen crashes and risky driving behaviors such as cell phone use, failure to wear seat 
belts, and drinking and driving are strongly linked with the way teens and parents communicate and approach 
rules about safety. The results of the studies by The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia (CHOP) and State Farm® 
were published in the journal Pediatrics. 
The first study shows that teens who said their parents set clear rules, paid attention to where they were going 
and whom they were with, and did so in a supportive way were: 
• half as likely to crash 
• twice as likely to wear seat belts 
• 71 percent less likely to drive while intoxicated 
• 30 percent less likely to use a cell phone while driving 

These findings are compared to teens who said their parents were less involved. 
Source http://multivu.prnewswire.com/mnr/chop/39673/ 

 Over the last decade, evidence-based strategies to successfully increase parent involvement in young driver 
safety have been identified, including to: (a) target parents in programmatic efforts, (b) promote high initial 
parent expectations for young driver safety, and (c) expose parents to goal-oriented persuasion.  

Source: Simons-Morton & Hartos, 2002) 

 Parents’ Role in Teen Driving Education Making A Difference Outside the Classroom: 
Teen drivers’ parents attending Connecticut’s new two-hour required driver training session for 
parents reported the program as overwhelmingly beneficial and has led them to adopt new safety 
measures with their young drivers. Parents overwhelmingly agreed with statements that: training helped 
their role as a parent of teen driver (85%); they approved of the requirement (83%) and they would recommend 
the class to other parents (82%). Parents also reported that overall the course was excellent or good 86% of the 
time and that the training will help to prevent teen crashes (71%). 

Source: http://www.ct.gov/dmv/parentsession 
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Minnesota Parent Driver Education Programs 

Primary Goal: Reduce the number of crashes, injuries and deaths involving novice teen drivers by enhancing parent 
awareness of teen driver safety issues by implementing a parent education module in novice driver 
education programs across the State.  

Objectives: 

1. Increase parent awareness of teen driving risks and laws. 

2. Increase awareness of the important role parents play in influencing their children to drive safely. 

3. Provide resources for parents to enhance their ability to fulfill their role. 

Duration: 1.5 hours 

Outline: 

1. Provide information on teen driving risks through a presentation with an “emotional appeal” and discussion 
that engages parents and enhances interest.  

• Local law enforcement and emergency medical services should participate in program planning and 
implementation.  

• It’s important to have law enforcement participation to explain laws and answer questions.  

• The State Patrol “Young Forever” (aka, How to Save a Life), video and discussion program, or similar 
interactive local enforcement program capable of reaching parents with an “emotional appeal” on teen 
driving risks and the important role parents play in developing a safer teen driver, should be a primary 
component of this initiative. 

2. Provide useful information on teen driving laws through presentations and discussions that engage parents’ 
interest.  

• Participants should be informed on why the teen driving laws were implemented, their shortcomings 
(not always best practice), and encourage parents to establish clear and reasonable boundaries for their 
teen drivers to reduce crash risks.  

• Parental control and making decisions that prioritize safety over convenience should be emphasized. 

3. Encourage parents to discuss family driving rules with their teen.  

• Include a plan to allow more driving privileges when safe driving over several months and adherence to 
driving responsibilities are demonstrated.  

• The importance of following through with consequences for violating family driving rules must be 
emphasized. 

4. Utilize a pre- and post-class parent awareness survey to measure the immediate impact of the program. The 
survey evaluates changes in parental perceptions, confidence, and knowledge by administration of the 
survey immediately prior to and immediately after the class. 

(Optional) Re-administer the awareness survey to parents six to twelve months after the class to measure the 
long-term impact of the program. This may be done by asking parents to provide their contact 
information, (e-mail addresses, etc.) at the start of the class and inform parents that they will be 
contacted in six to twelve months to complete a follow-up survey. 

5. Administer a class evaluation form to obtain parent feedback on the content and value of the program. 
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Objective Details: 

Objective #1: Increase parental awareness of teen driving risks and laws. 

Include the State Patrol “Young Forever” (aka, How to Save a Life), Video/Discussion or similar program capable of 
reaching parents with an “emotional appeal” on the risks of teen driving and their important role in developing a 
safer teen driver. 

Risks: 

Provide local, regional, state and national data on: 

• Periods of greatest risk; (first 6-12 months after licensure)  

• Nighttime; (9 pm – 3 a.m.) 

• Safety Belt Use; (teens are less likely to buckle up than other age groups) 

• Distractions; (passengers, electronics, etc.) 

• Risk Taking Behaviors, Peer influences, Invincibility, Brain Development; (speeding, aggressive driving, 
etc.) 

• While risky behavior does increase the chances of a crash, teens who are not risk-takers and who are 
responsible, smart, “good” kids make mistakes and errors in judgment while driving too. 

• Impairment from Alcohol and Other Drugs;  

• Drowsy driving; 

Laws: 

Explain the laws and the reasons why they exist; (relate to risks, crash data, brain development, etc.) 

Explain that some laws are not “best practices” and are just the minimum standard in regard to safety. 

Encourage parents to establish more stringent limitations and use a parent/teen driving contract before their 
teen gets a license. Emphasize making decisions with safety as the priority over convenience. 

• Night time limitations 

• Passenger limitations 

• Cell phone use 

• Texting/Internet access 

• Careless/reckless driving 

• Not-a-Drop (Zero Alcohol Tolerance) 

• DWI 

• Insurance (How driving behaviors – tickets, crash involvement, etc. – impact costs.) 

• Legal responsibilities and consequences (Who’s responsible when something bad happens?) 

Suggested presenters:  

• Law Enforcement  

• Emergency Medical Services  
 

 

Estimated total time for Objective One: 1 hr. 
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Objective Details: 

Objective #2: Increase awareness of the important role parents play in influencing their children to 
drive safely.  

• Driver education supplements what the parent is teaching their child, not the other way around. 

• Importance of providing many hours of supervised driving experience during the permit phase. 

• Parents can control when their teen drives, where they can go, and more. 

• Encourage parent/teen discussion and using a driving contract. 

• Parents can withdraw consent for their child to drive just by filling out a form from Driver and 
Vehicle Services. This can also be used to take a teen off an insurance policy, saving money.(See 
Form #PS33061) 

• Importance of establishing fair driving rules that reduce risk exposure, granting additional 
privileges as experience is gained and responsibilities are proven. 

• Importance of following through with consequences when problems are identified. 

Suggested presenters:  

• Public Health Educator 

• School Counselor 

• Social Worker 

• TZD Safe Roads Coalition  

• Parent, Family/Friend of Victim, Crash Survivor 

Program Objective #3: Provide resources for parents to enhance their ability to fulfill their role. 

• Review available resources and useful tips. See list of printed resources below. 

Suggested presenters:  

• Driver Educator 

• Public Health Educator 

• School Counselor 

• Social Worker 

• TZD Safe Roads Coalition  

• Parent  

Estimated total time for Objectives Two and Three: 15 minutes. 
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Measuring Impact and Evaluation: 

The impact and evaluation of parent driver education programs may be measured through: 

1. Attendance numbers: Participation Measure 

2. Pre/post event parent survey: Immediate Impact Measure (Appendix A) 

Survey components: 

• Parent perception of risks to teen drivers* 

• Parent confidence in knowledge of laws 

• Parent knowledge of laws  

• View of parent role 

3. Follow up parent survey conducted 6 months -1 year after class participation: (optional) Long-term Impact 
Measure 

• Parent perception of risks to teen drivers 

• Parent confidence of knowledge of laws  

• Parent  knowledge of laws 

• View of parent role 

4. Extended (3 to 5 years) data evaluation:  (optional) Outcome Evaluation 

• Changes in teen involvement in citations, crashes, injuries, and fatalities 

Resources and Materials:* 

These resource materials can be provided to aid parents in their role of developing a safe driver. 

• Teen Driver Road Rules; Minnesota Laws for Newly Licensed Teen Drivers (DPS Item # PI 024) 

Source: www.dps.state.mn.us/ots/ Resource Catalog 

• Teens Behind the Wheel; A Roadmap for Parents (DPS Item # PI 025) 

Source: www.dps.state.mn.us/ots/ Resource Catalog 

• Teen Driver Crash Risk Factors (Appendix D)  

• Helping Your Teen Become a Smart Driver (Appendix E) 

• Shoulder to Shoulder, Positive Parenting Tips (Appendix F) 

• Parents, Expect Resistance (Appendix G) 

• Supervised Driving Log (Appendix H)  Alternate Source: www.dps.state.mn.us/ots/teens 

• Sample Insurance Costs (Appendix I) 

• Parent/Teen Driving Contract Source: www.dps.state.mn.us/ots/teens 

• Withdrawal of Parental Consent (DPS Form #PS33061)  Source: www.dps.state.mn.us/dvs 

• Other materials or forms the driver educator may want to include 

Minnesota State Patrol Young Forever Program: A realistic educational program by the Minnesota State Patrol. The 
program is provided free of charge. Contact the Minnesota State Patrol District in your area. (See Appendix K) 

Minnesota State Patrol District Index: http://www.dps.state.mn.us/patrol/distindex/index.htm 

*See Appendix J for additional program resources. 
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Possible incentives to promote attendance:  

1) Raffle a donated item (I-pod, driver education classroom fee, etc.) to one parent from each class. 

2) Offer a reduced student classroom fee if parent/guardian attends. (Example: class costs $100, charge $90 if 
parent attends.) 

3) Make parent/guardian attendance a requirement for their teen to complete the class.  

4) Partner with athletic directors and activity coaches to make the parent program a requirement for teen 
participation in any extra-curricular school activity. (MN. State High School League [MSHSL] model) 

Community Involvement: 

Many driver educators currently engage members of the community to compliment their programs. 
Particularly, law enforcement officers are invited to discuss teen driving risks and laws with students. Law 
enforcement officers understand the important role parents play in teen driving; therefore it’s highly likely 
they will welcome the opportunity to extend the same learning opportunity to parents. 

Emergency medical services staff see the horrible consequences of poor driving decisions made by teen 
drivers on a regular basis. They also recognize the importance of parental involvement and are likely to be 
receptive to participating in a parent education program. 

Public health entities, such as community or county health departments, recognize teen driving as a 
significant public health concern. Providing education on injury prevention is a primary focus of public 
health organizations, which makes them excellent partners for implementing parent education programs. 

Sustainability: 

1) A modest increase in user fees, $10 per student, may be imposed to offset program costs.  

2) Partner (co-brand) with a local insurance agent to support the program and provide information on reducing 
insurance costs for teen drivers. (Allstate Insurance Co. 100 Deadliest Days Program Model)  

3) Partner (co-brand) with a local business to help support /sustain the program. 
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Appendix A 
Driver Education Parent/Guardian Program Awareness Survey  

1. How confident are you in your understanding of Minnesota’s teen driving laws? 
(Circle one number) 

Very 
Confident 

Confident Neither Confident 
or Unconfident 

Unconfident Very 
Unconfident 

1 2 3 4 5 
 

2. Please rank the teen driver issues/problems in the order of importance to you:  
                 1 = most important, 10 = least important 

Seat Belt Use  Teen Passengers  

Alcohol/Drug Use  Night Driving  

Speeding  Driving on Snow or Ice  

Texting  Insurance Costs  

Cell Phone Use  Distractions  
 

3. For the first 6-months of licensure, teen drivers are allowed only ____ passenger(s) under age 20 who 
are not members of the driver’s immediate family, unless they are accompanied by a parent or 
guardian.   (Circle one answer) 

  a.) 0         b.) 1         c.) 2         d.) 3         e.) 4         f.) No Limit   

4. For the second 6-months of licensure, teen drivers are allowed only ____ passenger(s) under age 20 
who are not members of the driver’s immediate family, unless they are accompanied by a parent or 
guardian.  (Circle one answer) 

     a.) 0         b.) 1         c.) 2         d.) 3         e.) 4         f.) No Limit   

5. A parent can withdraw consent for their child (under age 18), to drive by submitting a form to the 
Department of Public Safety.       (Circle one answer)  True False 

6. During the first 6-months of licensure, novice teen drivers are prohibited from driving between _____ 
(time) and _____ (time), unless they are accompanied by someone 25 or older.  (Circle one answer)   a.) 9 
p.m. & 5 a.m.      b.) 11 p.m. & 6 a.m. c.) midnight & 5 a.m.  

7. It’s illegal for a 16 year old licensed teen driver to use a cell phone while driving.  

(Circle one answer)        True False 

8. It’s illegal for _____ to text or access the Internet, when the vehicle is in motion or a part of traffic.       
(Circle one answer)   a.) teen drivers only  b.) all drivers 

9. Minnesota law requires _____ to be buckled up or to be in a proper child restraint.  

(Circle one answer) a.) Only front seat occupants  b.) All occupants  c.) Only those under age 18 

10. A person’s greatest lifetime chance of being in a fatal crash occurs _____  (Circle one answer) 

a.) during the first 6 to 12 months after receiving a license as a teenager. 

b.) when a teen is issued an instruction permit and learning how to drive.  

c.) after reaching the legal drinking age of 21. 



Appendix A (Key) 

Driver Education Parent/Guardian Program Awareness Survey KEY (answers appear in bold print)  

 (Pre-class, Post-class and after 6 –months) 

1. How confident are you in your understanding of Minnesota’s teen driving laws? 
(Circle one number) 

Very 
Confident 

Confident Neither Confident 
or Unconfident 

Unconfident Very 
Unconfident 

1 2 3 4 5 
 

2. Please rank the teen driver issues/problems in the order of importance to you:  
                 1 = most important, 10 = least important 

Seat Belt Use  Teen Passengers  

Alcohol/Drug Use  Night Driving  

Speeding  Driving on Snow or Ice  

Texting  Insurance Costs  

Cell Phone Use  Distractions  
 

3. For the first 6-months of licensure, teen drivers are allowed only ____ passenger(s) under age 20 who 
are not members of the driver’s immediate family, unless they are accompanied by a parent or 
guardian.   (Circle one answer) 

  a.) 0         b.) 1         c.) 2         d.) 3         e.) 4         f.) No Limit   

4. For the second 6-months of licensure, teen drivers are allowed only ____ passenger(s) under age 20 
who are not members of the driver’s immediate family, unless they are accompanied by a parent or 
guardian.  (Circle one answer) 

     a.) 0         b.) 1         c.) 2         d.) 3         e.) 4         f.) No Limit   

5. A parent can withdraw consent for their child (under age 18), to drive by submitting a form to the 
Department of Public Safety.       (Circle one answer)  True False 

6. During the first 6-months of licensure, novice teen drivers are prohibited from driving between _____ 
(time) and _____ (time), unless they are accompanied by someone 25 or older.  (Circle one answer) 

a.) 9 p.m. & 5 a.m.      b.) 11 p.m. & 6 a.m. c.) Midnight & 5 a.m.  

7. It’s illegal for a 16 year old licensed teen driver to use a cell phone while driving.  
(Circle one answer)        True False 

8. It’s illegal for _____ to text or access the Internet, when the vehicle is in motion or a part of traffic.       
(Circle one answer)   a.) teen drivers only  b.) all drivers 

9. Minnesota law requires _____ to be buckled up or to be in a proper child restraint.  

(Circle one answer) a.) Only front seat occupants  b.) All occupants  c.) Only those under age 18 

10. A person’s greatest lifetime chance of being in a fatal crash occurs _____  (Circle one answer) 

a.) during the first 6 to 12 months after receiving a license as a teenager. 

b.) when a teen is issued an instruction permit and learning how to drive.  

c.) after reaching the legal drinking age of 21. 



Appendix B:  

Evaluation Form for Parent Driver Education Class 
 

(date) 
 

Your feedback is very important.  
Please take a few minutes to evaluate this Parent Driver Education Class. 
 

           (Circle One) 

1. I will use the information from this class to help my teen become a safer driver. Yes No 

2. I would recommend this class to other parents of teen drivers.    Yes No 

3. Please indicate the importance of each of the following topics presented in the class:  
 (1= Very Unimportant  2= Somewhat Unimportant  3= Somewhat Important  4= Very Important) 

Teen Driving Risks:     1          2          3          4 

Teen Driving Laws:      1          2          3          4 

 Parents’ Role:             1          2          3          4 

 Parents’ Resources:   1          2          3          4 
 
4. Please rate each of the following presentations from the class:  
 (1= Poor   2=Fair   3= Good   4= Excellent) 

Teen Driving Risks:     1          2          3          4 

Teen Driving Laws:      1          2          3          4 

 Parents’ Role:             1          2          3          4 

 Parents’ Resources:   1          2          3          4 
 

5. What topics, if any, should be added to future parent driver education classes? 
_____________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________
_____________________________________________________________________________________ 

6. Please list other suggestions for future parent driver education classes: 
Day of the Week: _______________ 

 Time of Day: _______________ 

Location: _______________ 

 Length of Class: _______________ 

Other:____________________________________________________________________ 

         (Circle One) 

7. Overall, this parent driver education class was:  Poor      Fair      Good      Excellent 
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Discussion Points 

Teens: 

• Traffic crashes are the leading cause of fatalities for teens. 
- 44% Motor Vehicle Crashes 
- 23% All Other Causes 
- 19% Homicide 
- 13% Suicide 

Source: Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) 

• In the United States, the crash rate per mile driven for 16-19 year-olds is 4 times the risk for older drivers. Risk is 
highest at age 16. In fact, the crash rate per mile driven is twice as high for 16 year-olds as it is for 18-19 year-olds. 

 Source: Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS)  

• A person’s greatest lifetime chance of being in a fatal crash occurs during the first 6 to 12 months after receiving a 
license as a teenager.              Source: National Safety Council (NSC) 

• In Minnesota, teen male drivers and passengers age 15 – 19 are more than 1.6 times likely to die in a crash than 
females. (2005 – 2009: 160 males and 98 females) 

Source: Minnesota Department of Public Safety (MN-DPS) 

• Crash rates for teenagers are high largely because of their immaturity combined with driving inexperience. 

Source: IIHS 

• Many teenagers die as passengers in motor vehicle crashes. Sixty percent of teenage passenger deaths in 2009 
occurred in vehicles driven by another teenager. Among deaths of passengers of all ages, 18 percent occurred 
when a teenager was driving.               Source: IIHS 

• The common thinking is that thrill-seekers and risk-takers are the primary cause of crashes. Not so. While risky 
behavior does increase the chances of a crash, teens who are not risk-takers and who are responsible, smart, 
“good” kids can make mistakes or errors in judgment while driving.           Source: NSC 

• The crash risk drops by more than 2/3 after the first 1,000 – 1,500 miles of independent driving.  
Source: McCartt, Shabanova & Leaf, 2003 

Speed: 

• More than 1/3 of teen driver fatalities involve speeding.    Source: National Highway. Traffic Safety Admin. (NHTSA) 

• Illegal/unsafe speed is the most common contributing factor in single-vehicle crashes. Teen drivers have difficulty 
judging safe speeds and adjusting their speed to driving conditions.                Source: MN-DPS 

Distractions: 

• Driver distraction contributes to 80% of crashes and 65% of near crashes.               Source: VA Tech Transp. Institute 

• For 16 & 17 year old drivers, just one passenger increases crash risk by about 50%. With three or more passengers, 
the risk is nearly four times greater than while driving alone.          Source: IIHS 

Safety Belts: 

• Lap and shoulder safety belts reduce the risk of fatal injury to vehicle occupants by 50%.      Source: NSC 

• 2/3 of teens killed in fatal crashes were not wearing seat belts.                  Source: NHTSA 

• While rollovers account for only 3% of all passenger vehicle crashes, they account for fully 1/3 of all passenger 
vehicle fatalities, and 72% of those fatalities were unbuckled.                   Source: NHTSA 
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Driving at Night: 



• While only 15% of teen drivers’ miles occur at night, 40% of their fatal crashes occur during this time.     Source: NSC 

• Mile for mile, 16 and 17 year olds are about three times more likely to be involved in a fatal crash at night than 
during the day.                      Source: MN-DPS 

• In 2009, 17% of teen fatalities occurred between 9 pm and midnight, and 26% occurred between midnight and 6 
am. Fifty-five percent of teen fatalities occurred on Friday, Saturday, or Sunday.        Source: IIHS 

Alcohol 

• Drivers younger than 21 are more vulnerable than older drivers to the impairing effects of alcohol. At the same 
BAC, young drivers are far more likely to get into a fatal or nonfatal crash.        Source: IIHS 

• In Minnesota, 69% of teen drivers age 15 – 19 killed had not consumed alcohol, but 26 did. Of those killed that 
consumed alcohol, 88% were at or above .08 alcohol concentration. (2005 – 2009)              Source: MN-DPS 

Parents: 

• 59% of parents are aware that vehicle crashes are the number one killer of teens, yet only 27% talk to their children 
about the dangers of unsafe driving at age 12 or younger. In comparison, 70% talk to them about the dangers of 
smoking and drug use. 

• Less than one-third of parents say teens are good drivers, yet 88% of parents trust their teen to drive safely, and 
55% believe that if their teen got into a crash, it would be someone else’s fault. 

• 48% of parents say other, more lenient parents make it difficult to control their teen’s driving privileges. 

• 38% of parents say they often disagree with their teen’s other parent (their spouse) about establishing and 
enforcing family driving rules. 

• 24% of parents say they’ve allowed their teen driving privileges against their own better judgment. 

• 99% of parents believe demonstrating good driving behavior is helpful in teaching their teen safe driving, yet many 
parents admit to displaying bad driving behavior when their teens are in the car, including: 

-  71% have talked on a cell phone. 

-  62% have operated a radio, MP3 player, game, or other device. 

-  26% have broken one or more driving laws. 

• 93% of parents believe they’re prepared to teach their teens how to drive, yet they’re not familiar with the laws 
and the main causes for teen involved crashes. 

• 60% of parents have never heard of or are only vaguely aware of their state’s graduated driver licensing laws, 
which are proven to save teen lives. 

• 49% of parents incorrectly believe that most teen crashes result from impaired (drunk) driving, while the main 
causes are driving error, speeding, distractions, and driver inexperience.             Source: Allstate Foundation, 2007 

• Parents allow teens to drive in risky situations in the first few months after receiving their license: 

-  90% of parents allow their teen to drive after dark. 

-  77% allow their teen to drive with friends. 

-  70% allow their teen to drive in bad weather. 

• Teenage drivers whose parents made reasonable efforts to monitor their vehicle usage were about 71 percent less 
likely to drink and drive and 30 percent less likely to use a cellular phone while driving than their counterparts. 

Source: http://www.insurance-website.com/Content/2009/09/29/study-parents-can-curb-teen-car-crashes/ 
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Appendix D: 
Teenage Driver Crash Risk Factors 

Crash rates for 16- to 19-year old drivers are higher than those of any other age group.  
A person’s greatest lifetime chance of being in a fatal crash occurs during the first 6 to 12 months after 
receiving a license as a teenager.  
The death rate for teen male drivers and passengers is more than 1.5 times greater than female teen 
drivers. (19.4 killed per 100,000 male drivers compared with 11.1 killed per 100,000 female drivers.)  
What causes teen drivers to be such risky drivers? The following is a list of their primary risk factors.  

Poor Hazard Detection 
The ability to detect hazards in the driving environment depends upon perceptual and information-gathering 
skills and involves properly identifying potential threats. It takes many hours of driving experience for young 
novice drivers to acquire this ability.  

Low Risk Perception 
Risk perception involves assessing the degree of threat posed by a hazard and one’s ability to deal with the 
threat. Young novice drivers tend to underestimate the crash risk in hazardous situations and overestimate 
their ability to avoid the threats they do identify.  

Risk Taking 
Teens tend to take more (and dangerous) risks while driving than adults due to overconfidence in their 
driving abilities and because the part of the brain that leads them to anticipate the consequences of their 
actions doesn’t fully develop until they reach the mid-20’s.  

Not Wearing Seat Belts I 
Teens tend to wear seat belts less often than other drivers and passengers.   

Distracted or Inattentive Driving II, III 
Distracted or inattentive driving is when a driver engages in any activity that might distract them from the 
primary task of driving — and increases their risk of crashing. Teens are more likely to engage in distracted 
driving behaviors such as using electronic devices for texting, accessing the internet or talking on a cell 
phone. 

Carrying Passengers IV 
For teens, the risk of being in a crash increases when they transport passengers. The fatality risk of drivers 
aged 16-17 years is 3.6 times higher when they are driving with passengers than when they are driving 
alone, and the risk of a fatal crash increases as the number of passengers increases. Other teen 
passengers may distract the teen drivers and encourage them to take more risks, especially young males 
riding with young male drivers.  

Night Driving V 

The 2007 – 2009 Minnesota fatal crash rate for teen drivers (age 16 – 19) between 9 p.m. and 3 a.m. is 2.7 
times higher than the remaining hours in the day. This is because the task of driving at night is more 
difficult; teens have less experience driving at night; teens are more sleep deprived, and because teen 
recreational driving is more likely to occur at night and involves alcohol more often than during the day.  

Alcohol and Drugs VI 
Driving under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs is a factor in serious crashes involving teen drivers, 
especially fatal crashes. Not only are drivers under age 21 more likely to be involved in fatal crashes than 
older drivers, but their risk for fatal crash involvement increases more sharply at all levels of alcohol use. 
 

continued 
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Minnesota Statutes: 



 
I MS 169.686 requires all drivers and passengers in all seating positions to be buckled up or in the correct 
child restraint. 

 
II MS 171.055 Subd. 2(a) makes it illegal for teen drivers to use a cell phone while the vehicle is in motion. 
 
III MS 169.475 makes it illegal for all drivers to use a device to compose, read, or send an electronic 
message or access the Internet, when the vehicle is in motion or a part of traffic. 

 
IV MS 171.055 Subd. 2© allows newly licensed teen drivers to have only one passenger under age 20 for 

the first 6-months of licensure, and no more than three passengers under age 20 for the subsequent 6-
months, unless they are accompanied by a parent or guardian. Members of the driver’s immediate family 
(siblings) are exempt.  

 
V MS 171.055 Subd. 2(b) prohibits novice teen drivers from midnight – 5 a.m. during the first 6-months of 
licensure, unless accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or older, driving for employment purposes or 
school events. 

 
VI MS169A.33 makes it illegal for any person under age 21 to operate a vehicle with any detectable amount 

of alcohol in their system. When convicted, the driving privileges are suspended for 30 days. A second 
conviction will result in suspended driving privileges for 180 days. For alcohol concentrations at or above 
0.08%, regular DWI penalties apply. If proven that alcohol or drugs caused the driver to commit a driving 
error, a conviction for DWI can result with an alcohol concentration below 0.08%. 
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Appendix E 

Helping Your Teen Become a Smart Driver  

As a parent, you ultimately want your child to be well-trained and as safe as possible when behind the wheel or as a 
passenger in someone else’s vehicle. Learning to drive is part of that training, and it’s important that parents play an 
active role in the process.  

• Discuss the risks and responsibilities of driving with your child at a young age and keep talking to your teen 
before, during and after the licensing process. This discussion should have the same –or even higher priority 
level – as discussing sex and drugs.  

• Practice what you preach. Be a positive role model when you’re behind the wheel. Your teen is more likely to 
be a calm and courteous driver, wear a seat belt and follow the rules of the road if they see you do the same.  

• Don’t rush the training process. Just because a teen has a license, it doesn’t mean they’re ready for every 
driving situation or condition. Nothing can replace the many hours of supervised driving experience they 
need with you while learning how to handle most of the challenges they will eventually encounter 
independently.  

• Understand your states graduated driver licensing laws. Familiarize yourself and your teen with these 
requirements, and establish your own rules for when, where, how, and with whom your teen may drive by 
creating a Parent-Teen Driving Contract. It’s important that you set reasonable rules and limits, and follow 
through with consequences when problems arise. 

• Even after receiving their license, teens are not prepared to drive on their own in every situation or during 
times of higher crash risk. Only you can decide when your teen is ready to drive without adult supervision in 
more challenging and risky situations.  

• Empower your teen. Being a passenger in another teen’s car can put your teen at risk. Peer pressure among 
teens can be both positive and negative. Make sure your teen knows it’s okay to say something if 
uncomfortable while riding with a friend and help her practice what to say in these situations. Although you 
can’t be with your teen at all times, you can say how important it is that your teen speaks up in dangerous 
situations.  

http://www.allstate.com/Allstate/content/refresh-attachments/TeenDriver_sheet_contract.pdf�
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www.shouldertoshoulderminnesota.org

POSITIVE PARENTING
is warm, supportive and encouraging 
while being firm, consistent and clear 
with limits and boundaries. 

 HIGH Nurturance
 HIGH Expectations
 HIGH Respect

DOMINATING PARENTING
is harsh, punitive and rigid.

 LOW Nurturance
 HIGH Expectations
 LOW Respect

PERMISSIVE PARENTING
is inconsistent enforcement of rules, or 
no rules at all and a need to be a pal, 
more than a parent.

 HIGH Nurturance 
 LOW Expectations
 MODERATE Respect

UNENGAGED PARENTING 
is inconsistent presence in a 
child’s life - teens raise 
themselves.

 LOW Nurturance
 LOW Expectations
 LOW Respect

Positive Parenting is Ideal

“I really want to enjoy 
parenting my teen.  It’s 

important for them to fit in 
& have what they want, & 

not have too many rules.  We 
get along better that way.”

“It’s time to let go now that 
my child’s grown up. It’s 

time to get my needs met. 
He can take care of 

himself.”

“I’m important in my teen’s life. 
We have some good times & 

some bad times, but I’m there for 
the long run.”

“I need to really clamp 
down now that he’s a teen..

If you give him an inch,
he’ll take a mile”

 
Positive Parents 

Provide LIMITS, Give clear RULES & BOUNDARIES while ENCOURAGING INDEPENDENCE 

RESEARCH SAYS: 

Teens raised by POSITIVE parents: 

• Do better in school 
• Have lower rates of depression and stress 
• Are less likely to engage in risky behavior 
• Have better social skills 
• Are more respectful 
• Deal better with Conflict 

Positive parenting has been shown to be the most effective parenting style. 
This is true across different cultural, racial and economic groups. 

 

Teens Need Rules 
FIRM RULES: Some rules are firm and not to be changed whether your teen agrees with them or not. These rules 
are understood by both parents and teens. Use firm rules when: 

• Physical or Emotional Health and Safety is at stake 
• The Family’s Values are at stake 

FLEXIBLE RULES: Some rules are open for discussion and can be negotiated, waived or changed, if there is a good 
reason. Use flexible rules when: 

• It’s not a health and safety issue 
• The issue doesn’t affect or compromise your family’s values 

 

Provided by the Minnesota Institute of Public Health  www.shouldertoshoulderminnesota.org 
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http://www.shouldertoshoulderminnesota.org/�


Parents: Expect Resistance 

Be Prepared 

Wouldn’t it be nice if your teen responded to your safety rules with “Thanks for caring!”  But that’s usually 
not the case.  It’s normal for your teen to resist restrictions, also known as rules.  Testing limits to stretch 
boundaries is part of growing up.  That’s why you must stress that the rules are in place for safety, not to 
control your teen’s life. 

How can you do this?  Calmly and clearly explain the rule and then back it up with fact.  Your teen may 
respond by telling you not to worry.  He has it all figured out.  He can stay safe without following the rule.  
Be prepared.  Here are some specific things you can say when your teen resists certain rules: 

Seat belt use 

You might say: Do you always make sure that all your passengers are buckled up before turning the key? 
Expect: It’s not my job to make my friends buckle up—I’m not their mom. 

You might respond: When you’re the driver, you are the mom!  Remember, you’re responsible for 
everyone’s safety in your car.  Most crashes happen close to home, so there are NO exceptions to wearing a 
seat belt. 

Inexperience 

You might say: Until you’re really experienced, I’ll continue teaching you new driving skills, and we’ll have 
rules in place to make sure you stay safe. 

Expect: But I’m already experienced! I have a license. 
You might respond: I’m proud of the work it took to earn that license but that’s only the first step.  Teens 
crash a lot during their first year of driving alone, and I don’t want that to happen to you.  It’s my job to 
continue to help you stay safe. 

Talking on a cell phone 

You might say: You have to pull over if you ever need to call someone. 
Expect: Don’t worry; I put it on hands-free. 

You might respond:  Did you know that cell phones increase crash risk--hands-free or not!  It’s the 
conversation that takes your mind off the road. 

Texting 

You might say: Never, ever text while driving.  It’s deadly. 

Expect: Yeah, if I texted like you.  Watch this; I barely have to think about it. 

You might respond: I’m impressed, but you still took your eyes off the road for three critical seconds.  And 
don’t forget it’s not just about where your hands are, it’s about where your mind is. 

 
Source: http://www.teendriversource.org/more_pages/page/expect_resistance/for_parents 



Appendix H  
Supervised Driving Log  

Parents or Guardians are responsible for making certain that their teen has completed not less than 30 
hours of supervised driving, of which a minimum of 10 must be at night. These hours are in addition to the 
driver education requirements. This form will help you keep track of time spent on the road as well as a way 
to ensure that your teen has a diverse supervised driving experience.  

 

Date & 
Time  

Driving Time 
(Hours/Minutes)  

Day or 
Night  

Driving Environment 
(ex. Rural, highway, 

city)  

Weather 
Conditions  

Skills Practiced  

      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      
      

 

  Total Hours this sheet _______       Page ____ of ____. 
 

 Print additional copies as needed. 
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Insurance Costs 
 

Sample Insurance Quote for Teen Drivers 

2005 Chevrolet Cavalier Sedan 
Coverage Limit/Deductible 

Injury & Damage 100/300/100 
Uninsured Motorist 100/300 

Underinsured Motorist 100/300 
PIP/No-Fault 20/0/0 

Comprehensive 750 
Collision 750 
Towing Yes 
Glass Yes 

 
MALE GOOD STUDENT, Age 16 

 Clean Record One Ticket DWI 
Monthly Premium $131.57 $148.82 $484.02 

Total 6-Month Premium $804.40 $907.90 $2,919.10 
 

FEMALE GOOD STUDENT, Age 16 
 Clean Record One Ticket DWI 

Monthly Premium $87.77 $103.12 $382.97 
Total 6-Month Premium $541.60 $633.70 $2,312.80 

 

 

 



Appendix J 

Additional Program Resources 

A. AAA Foundation for Traffic Safety 
www.aaafoundation.org http://teendriving.aaa.com/MN/ 

B. Allstate Foundation 
http://www.allstate.com/foundation/teen-driving/parent-research.aspx 

C. The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia.  
Enhancing Education to Keep Teens Safe on the Road, Training Tools for Worksite, School, and Community 
Educators, 2011  
www.teendriversource.org 

D. Minnesota Institute of Public Health 
Shoulder to Shoulder, Positive Parenting Program 
 http://www.shouldertoshoulderminnesota.org/?q=node/8 

E. National Safety Council. 
Teen Driver, A Family Guide to Teen Driver Safety, The Right Decisions for Their Sake  
www.teendriver.nsc.org 
 

F. National Organizations for Youth Safety 
www.noys.org 
 
 

Video Resources 

A. AT&T Texting While Driving. (10.44 min.)  

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DebhWD6ljZs 
 
B. Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Parents are the Key to Safe Drivers. (4.43 min.) 

http://www.cdc.gov/ParentsAreTheKey/socialmedia/video.html 
 
 
Minnesota Driver Education Associations: 

There are approximately 370 individual driver education contacts (signers) in Minnesota.  

110 are Commercial Schools and 260 are Public/Private School Programs. 

There are 4 known driver education associations in MN:  

• Driving School Association of the Americas (DSAA)  Web site:  http://thedsaa.org/ 
  Contact: Debra Prudhomme E-mail: djprudhomme@t-wheels.com 

• Minnesota Driver and Traffic Safety Education Association (MDTSEA)  Web site: www.mdtsea.net 

• Minnesota Driving School Association 
Contact: Cindy Thienes  E-mail:  cthienes@safewaydrivingschool.com 

• Professional Driving Association of Northern Minnesota  
Contact: Mary Madden   E-mail:  mikeandmary@northlc.com 

 

http://www.aaafoundation.org/�
http://teendriving.aaa.com/MN/�
http://www.allstate.com/foundation/teen-driving/parent-research.aspx�
http://www.teendriversource.org/�
http://www.shouldertoshoulderminnesota.org/?q=node/8�
http://www.teendriver.nsc.org/�
http://www.noys.org/�
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DebhWD6ljZs�
http://www.cdc.gov/ParentsAreTheKey/socialmedia/video.html�
http://thedsaa.org/�
http://www.mdtsea.net/�
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Appendix K 
Minnesota State Patrol Contact List 

 
Central Office, St.Paul Lt. Eric Roeske (651) 201-7146 
 
DISTRICT 2100, Rochester    (507) 285-7406 
 
DISTRICT 2200, Mankato    (507) 344-2750 
 
DISTRICT 2300, Marshall    (507) 537-3664 
 
DISTRICT 2400, Oakdale    (651) 779-5900 
 
DISTRICT 2500,Golden Valley   (763) 591-4680 
 
DISTRICT 2600, St. Cloud    (320) 255-2916 
 
DISTRICT 2700, Duluth    (218) 723-4888 
 
DISTRICT 2800,Brainerd    (218) 828-2230 
 
DISTRICT 2900, Detroit Lakes   (218) 847-1584 
 
DISTRICT 3100, Virginia    (218) 749-7720 
 
DISTRICT 3200, Thief River Falls  (218) 681-0943 
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