Click It or Ticket 
News Conference Talking Points —“Primary Seat Belt Law”
Hello, I am [NAME, TITLE AND AGENCY.]

A statewide seat belt enforcement campaign is out on the streets now. This effort is a prime time to remind everyone of Minnesota’s primary seat belt law. 

The primary seat belt law means law enforcement can pull over motorists that are unbelted, including unbelted passengers. 
Everyone, drivers and all passengers — even in the back seat — need to be belted. Children need to be in the correct child safety restraint.
Our [deputies/officers/troopers] will also be enforcing child passenger safety laws. We recommend you double-check your child’s restraint to ensure it is secured tight enough, and that your child is in the correct child restraint based on their size — that includes booster seats. 

Minnesota’s child passenger safety law requires children under 8 years of age and under 4 feet 9 inches tall to be in a child restraint or booster seat when riding in a vehicle. 
Booster seats help lift a child so a seat belt fits properly. Children must start using boosters typically around age 4 and between 40 and 60 pounds. We recommend you keep your child in a booster based on their height — 4 feet 9 inches tall.
As motorists there are four things to remember every time you get a vehicle:

· Wear your seat belt.

· Driver sober.

· Pay attention.

· And drive at safe speeds.
Do this and you will greatly increase your chances for a safe trip on [YOUR AREA] roads. 
More and more Minnesotans are buckling up, yet, each year more than half of vehicle occupants killed are unbuckled. 
Local police, county sheriffs, and state troopers are dedicated to enforcing these life-saving laws, so make sure you’re buckled up.  
And do your part to keep our roads safe. Insist that your passengers to buckle up — speak up so they buckle up — Click It or Ticket. Extra seat belt patrols are on [YOUR AREA] roads now.
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