Click It or Ticket Belt Enforcement
Sample Questions and Backgrounder
Background

During Oct. 10 - 26, Minnesota law enforcement agencies will increase seat belt enforcement in a “Click It or Ticket” campaign. 

In Minnesota, drivers and all passengers — including the back seat — must be buckled up. Law enforcement will stop and ticket unbelted drivers and passengers.
Buckle up and speak up — encourage everyone in the vehicle to belt up. 
Make sure children are riding the right car seat for their age and size.  Booster seats are the law for kids: Use a booster once the child has outgrown a forward-facing restraint and it’s safest for kids to use boosters until they are 4’9” tall, or at least age 8.
Each year in Minnesota, less than half of occupants killed in motor vehicle crashes were buckled up.
In 2013, 78 percent of unbelted deaths occurred in Greater Minnesota.

From 2011 – 2013, 816 were killed in Minnesota and only 49 percent were known to be belted.

Last year, only 33 percent of drinking drivers killed were known to be belted.
Sample questions

· A statewide Click It or Ticket seat belt enforcement is on the roads now. Are people still not buckling up?  
· Where do most of the unbelted deaths occur and who are the victims?
· What is the state’s seat belt law? Can you get ticketed for not buckling up in the back seat?
· Is it OK to wrap the belt behind your back, or tuck it under your arm?

· What happens if you’re in a crash and you’re not buckled up? 
· What do people need to know to stay out of trouble and stay safe? 

