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CHILD SEATS A FOCUS DURING CLICK IT OR TICKET CAMPAIGN THIS FALL
[If there was a recent crash in which children were involved, reference in headline/subhead] 
[YOUR CITY] — Far too many Minnesota parents are not properly securing their children in car seats and not using booster seats when in a vehicle. Of the 27 children ages 4–7 killed in crashes during the last decade, only four (15 percent) were properly restrained.
YOUR AGENCY is stressing proper child restraint use during a statewide and nationwide Click It or Ticket seat belt enforcement and education campaign.

[IF YOU ARE AWARE OF A CRASH INVOLVING A CHILD IN YOUR AREA, INSERT DETAILS HERE: In [YOUR AREA] in [YEAR] a [AGE]-year-old boy/girl was killed/injured on [ROAD] on [DATE].]

“We are asking parents to take the time to properly install car seats and make sure it’s the correct restraint for the child’s size and age.” says [AGENCY SPOKESPERSON]. “Properly restraining a child can go a long way toward ensuring that child’s safety.”
Minnesota Department of Public Safety crash facts reflect the success of child restraints. Since 2009, more than 16,500 children ages 0-7 were properly restrained and involved in traffic crashes. A majority of those children (86 percent) were not injured; 12 percent sustained only minor injuries.

In Minnesota, three out of four child restraints are used incorrectly — meaning children are riding in the wrong restraint or it is not properly secured. Booster seats — required by law in Minnesota — are the most frequently unused restraint.
Booster-Age Children (4–7) Fatal and Injury Crash Facts, 2008–2012 in Minnesota:

· Of 10 killed, only three (30 percent) were properly restrained. 
· Of 2,058 injured, only 1.044 (51 percent) were properly restrained.

· Of 6,673 who were properly restrained and involved in a crash, 84 percent were not injured.
Minnesota Child Car Seat Law and Steps
Minnesota statute requires children under age 8 to ride in a federally approved car seat or booster, unless the child is 4 feet 9 inches or taller. Here are the restraint steps a child should progress through as they age and grow:
· Rear-facing infant seats — Newborns to at least 1 year and 20 pounds; recommended up to age 2. It is safest to keep a child rear-facing as long as possible.
· Forward-facing toddler seats — Age 2 until around age 4. It’s preferable to keep children in a harnessed restraint as long as possible.
· Booster seats — Use once outgrown a forward-facing harnessed restraint; safest to remain in a booster until 4 feet 9 inches tall, or at least age 8.
· Seat belts — A child is ready for an adult seat belt when they can sit with their back against the vehicle seat, knees bent comfortably and completely over the vehicle seat edge without slouching, and feet touching the floor. Children 4 feet 9 inches tall or taller can correctly fit in a lap/shoulder belt.

Parents and caregivers are encouraged to visit the state’s buckleupkids.mn.gov website for instructional car seat installation videos, and to find local car seat checks and more child passenger safety tips.
The Click It or Ticket seat belt education and enforcement campaign is a component of the state’s Toward Zero Death (TZD) initiative. A primary vision of the TZD program is to create a safe driving culture in Minnesota in which motorists support a goal of zero road fatalities by practicing and promoting safe and smart driving behavior. TZD focuses on the application of four strategic areas to reduce crashes — education, enforcement, engineering and emergency trauma response. 
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