Child Passenger Safety Week Radio PSAs
Department of Public Safety
September 15–21 is National Child Passenger Safety Week, an ideal period to remind and educate parents about the importance of child restraints and the state’s booster seat law.

In Minnesota, children must ride in a booster seat once they have outgrown a forward facing seat, typically starting around age 4. It is safest that they remain in a booster until they are 4 feet 9 inches tall or at least age 8.
Communicating child passenger safety information to your listeners is important to ensure parents are properly and legally securing their child in safety seat or booster. 

Radio Station Public Service Announcements — CPS Week

“Give ‘em a Boost”

In Minnesota, booster seats are the law. Kids should start using a booster at age 4. It’s best they ride in a booster until they are 4 feet 9 inches tall to ensure the seat belt fits them properly and it’s not rubbing against their neck. 
Learn more about the booster seat law at buckleupkids dot mn dot gov.
 A life-saving message from Minnesota Department of Public Safety and [STATION].
“3-out-of-4”

Is your child properly secured in a child restraint? Chances are, they’re not — in Minnesota 3 out of 4 kids aren’t correctly buckled in. 
Make sure your child is in the correct seat for their age and size, and avoid some common mistakes — like the harness material being too loose on the child, or the restraint not installed tight enough — it shouldn’t shift more than an inch side-to-side or away from the seat. Learn more about keeping kids safe at 
buckleupkids dot mn dot gov. 

 A life-saving message from the Minnesota Department of Public Safety and [STATION].

