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 [YOUR AGENCY] STRESSES TEEN DRIVING SAFETY DURING PROM/END-OF-SCHOOL YEAR
[YOUR CITY/COUNTY] — [YOUR AGENCY] doesn’t want the class of 2013 going out in a crash. Celebrations surrounding the [prom season/end of the school year/ the start of the summer driving season] make this time of year potentially deadly on the road. [YOUR AGENCY] is using the period to remind parents, grandparents and caregivers about the importance to talk with their teen to reinforce teen driving laws, and set their own family driving rules.

“This time of year has the potential to be very deadly for teenagers and it’s critical for parents to step up and reinforce safe driving choices and behaviors,” says SPOKESPERSON. “Now is the time to stress for your teen to buckle up, hang up and drive, and speak up to stop unsafe driving when riding with friends.”
Traffic Crashes — Leading Cause of Teen Deaths

Traffic crashes are the leading cause of death for Minnesota teens due to inexperience, risk-taking, distractions and poor seat belt compliance. In the last five years, 166 teen motorists (13-19) were killed and only 68 were buckled up. Of those 166 deaths, 65 teens killed were backseat passengers and only 27 were belted. In the last decade, 505 teen motorists teens were killed in Minnesota traffic crashes.
Important Role of Parents and Safe Teen Driving

[YOUR AGENCY] is urging parents to talk to their teen about the dangers and consequences of underage drinking, and encourage them to always buckle up to keep them safe.

 [SPOKESPERSON] says parents should also reinforce teen driving laws such as belt use, passenger limitations, nighttime driving, no cell phone use and no texting (including when stopped in traffic). 

“It is so important that parents talk to their teen drivers and establish rules for the road,” says [SPOKESPERSON]. “Just because a teen has their license does not mean they are experienced, safe drivers. Parents must stay involved with a teen’s driving just as they do with their grades, athletics and other activities.” 

Guide for Parents to Establish Safer Teen Drivers

· Provide significant supervised driving training, and continue to do so even after licensure.

· Train teen on a variety of road types (urban, rural) and in different conditions (night, rain, snow).  

· Talk with teen to reinforce laws and set limits (such as passenger limitations, nighttime driving) — and use a driving contract between parent and teen to set rules. 

· Encourage teen to speak up when they feel unsafe in a vehicle to stop unsafe driving behaviors.

A “teen license parent withdrawal form” is available for parents to cancel the driving privileges of their teen's driver's license (under age 18)

Find resources including a driver’s skills checklist, a parent-teen contract, teen driver laws and the parent withdrawal form online at ots.dps.mn.gov, click on “Teen Driving,” found under “Traffic Topics.”

Parents, grandparents and other caregivers should also know: Where their teen is going; who they’ll be with; and when they are expected to be home. Parents should also make themselves available to pick up their children at any time or location.
—MORE—

Underage Drinking

The state’s “Not a Drop” law says drivers under age 21 cited for consuming any amount of alcohol will lose their license from 30 to 180 days, and face up to a $700 fine and 90 days in jail. A citation of this nature will also stay on the driver’s record for 10 years. Each year there are nearly 1,500 “not a drop” convictions issued to underage drivers and there are 2,585 underage DWIs.
[SPOKESMAN] says adults need to understand the consequences of providing alcohol to minors, even if they are not driving. Adults providers can be held responsible and suffer serious criminal, legal, and financial consequences including: felony charges and prison time in the case of death; civil liability charges in the case of injury, property damage or death; and increased insurance rates. 

Minors will lose their license until age 18 when arrested for DWI or involved in an impaired driving crash or crime. A DWI offense can result in one year in jail, and cost up to $20,000 when factoring in legal fees and increased insurance rates. A DWI remains on a person’s record forever.

Teen driving safety and underage drinking education is a component of the state’s Toward Zero Death (TZD) initiative. A primary vision of the TZD program is to create a safe driving culture in Minnesota in which motorists support a goal of zero road fatalities by practicing and promoting safe and smart driving behavior. TZD focuses on the application of four strategic areas to reduce crashes — education, enforcement, engineering and emergency trauma response. 
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