What is the Motorcycle Road Guard Law?
The Minnesota Department of Public Safety (DPS) amended Minnesota Rules by adding a new chapter to regulate and administer the Motorcycle Road Guard certification and qualification requirements.
The rules are needed to establish safety and equipment requirements, curriculum content and the fee for the person to obtain a Motorcycle Road Guard Certificate.
How do I become a Motorcycle Road Guard?
Motorcycle Road Guard Training
Training is offered regionally at the following MMSC training sites April-October:
Training cannot run in the winter or when there is a lot of snow on the ground for safety reasons.
The course is three hours and includes classroom time and practical training at a live intersection near the training site.
Cost is $30.
Bringing training to your group is also an option for a $250 fee. Training can be delivered to groups if their training location is located more than 75 miles from one of MMSC's established regional training sites. Contact any of the MMSC training sites offering the course for more information. Training must be done during daylight hours at a location that will accommodate the classroom training portion. Groups must supply a classroom space, a computer with Microsoft PowerPoint and a projector. The group must also make arrangements with their local law enforcement and a traffic engineer for a training intersection (that conforms to the Field Guide standards) in their area.
When choosing a training intersection, follow these tips:
- Select an intersection near to a classroom space with room to legally park up to ten vehicles where they do not block the visibility of oncoming drivers.
- The intersection needs to be a single-lane approach. Turn lanes are okay and traffic control devices are optional.
- The intersection will need to have steady, but not heavy, traffic flow, so the practical portion of the course can move along without students waiting for traffic to show up.
- The speed limit should be 45 mph or slower.
- Schedule training to avoid rush hour or select an intersection that does not experience rush-hour congestion.
To make arrangements with an instructor contact one of the training site coordinators:
Jamon Friendshuh, 218-846-3733, Minnesota State College in Detroit Lakes
James Wee, 507-537-7532, Minnesota West College in Marshall
Cassie Ray, 507-285-7571, Rochester Community and Technical College
Jim Unger, 651-423-8482, Dakota County Technical College in Rosemount
Please note class size is limited to 12 participants. If you have more than 12, your group must be split into more than one class. For example: 24 participants will be split into two classes and 36 participants will be split into three classes, etc.
Requirements Prior to Receiving Certification
Driving record review.
In order to participate in this training, a Motorcycle Road Guard Certificate application
must be completed and sent to Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS). The application must be received three weeks before the training session the applicant wants to attend.
The application allows DVS to review applicants' driving records. Applicants will receive a response letter from DVS telling them if they are approved or not approved to attend training. Applicants must bring the letter to training in order to participate.
No more than two petty misdemeanor convictions for any Minnesota moving violation, or equivalent violation from another state, for 24 months preceding date of application.
No impaired driving incident for five years preceding date of application.
No convictions under Minnesota Statutes, sections 169.13
, or equivalent violations from another state.
Must be able to hear and speak well enough to conduct a normal conversation at a distance of five feet, as well as meet the vision requirements to obtain a class D license.
Participants are required to bring a completed waiver form
to participate in this course.
Road equipment, including a stop/slow paddle, ANSI reflective vests and two-way radios, will be provided for the training.