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In 2015, Minnesota recorded 107 impaired-related traffic deaths, 18% more than in 2014.  
These accounted for 25 percent of all traffic deaths. 

Impaired-related crashes, injuries and fatalities continue to be a serious problem in Minnesota. 
Overall, males and young adults are overrepresented in impaired-related crashes and account 
for a disproportionate share of fatalities. More than 600,000 Minnesotans with driver license 
records have a DWI. 

 The legal alcohol limit for drivers in Minnesota is 0.08. It is always illegal to drive with an
alcohol-concentration level of 0.08 or above. Motorists can be arrested under 0.08 if they
demonstrate impaired driving behavior. If a motorist’s alcohol-concentration is at 0.08
percent or higher, it is a criminal offense with penalties ranging from misdemeanor to felony.
It is also a violation of civil law that triggers automatic driver license revocation for up to a
year.

 During 2013–2015 in Minnesota there were 1,159 traffic deaths and 293 (25 percent) were
impaired-related.

 Over the same three years, there were 76,445 DWI arrests. In 2015, 25,027 DWI arrests were
made.

 In 2015, the Twin Cities’ metro area had 51.8 percent of the impaired driving arrests and the
80-county non-metro area 48.2 percent.

 In 2015, males accounted for 72 percent of impaired driving arrests for which the gender 
of the violator was reported.  However,  from 2006 to 2015, female DWI offenses 
increased from 24 percent to 28 percent. 

 Young persons — especially people in their 20s — account for a disproportionate share of
all arrests. In 2015, people in their 20s represented 39 percent of DWI arrests.


Of all Minnesota residents, more than one-half million— 619,319 — have a DWI on record. 
Thus, one in nine persons in Minnesota (including those with licenses revoked, cancelled, 
etc.) has a DWI; 260,538 (one in 21) have two or more arrests; 121,328 (one in 45) have 
three or more. 

 Most impaired driving offenders are first-time offenders. In 2015, 14,823 (59 percent of all
violators) were issued their first DWI. Still, many offenses are committed by persons with prior
DWIs on their record.  In 2015, 10,204 (41 percent) of violators had prior DWIs on record.
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