Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
OTS Logo

Office of Traffic Safety

A Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Teen TV Commercial Challenge

St. Michael Teen Repeats as Winner of Buckle Up and Pay Attention, Teens! TV Commercial Challenge 2013

Defending champion Eli Guillou of St. Michael Albertville High School is the winner of the 2013 Buckle Up and Pay Attention, Teens! TV Commercial Challenge.

Guillou, who also won first place in the 2012 contest, will receive $1,000 from AAA. The Office of Traffic Safety will air the winning PSA statewide during the MTV Video Music Awards this summer. To view the winning spot and the three other finalists, visit

Guillou received 3,159 (51 percent) of the total 6,252 votes during the voting period that ran May 6–19.

AAA also will award second- and third-place winners with $600 and $400, respectively.


2013 Teen Finalists

First Place — “Nightmare” (3,159 votes)

Eli Guillou, St. Michael Albertville High School, St. Michael


Second Place — “Break Up Text” (2,459 votes)

Drue Lindstrom, Stillwater Area High School, Stillwater


Third Place — “Think Now Text Later” (283 votes)

Dalton Foss, Adam Dullinger, Alex Duba, Sartell High School, Sartell


Fourth Place — “Just One Word” (261 votes)

Matt Dorn, Sartell High School—Sartell


Traffic crashes are the leading cause of death for teens in Minnesota due to driver inexperience, risk-taking behavior, distractions, nighttime driving, speeding and seat belt non-use.

DPS urges parents to talk to their teens about the life-saving importance of seat belts, and the dangers and consequences of speeding, distracted driving and alcohol use.

Parents are encouraged to continue to provide supervised experience for their teen driver in a variety of conditions and road types and use a parent-teen driver contract to establish road rules, and follow through with consequences.


View Past Winners of the Teen TV Commercial Challenges

OTS and AAA Minnesota/Iowa have sponsored this contest since 2004. Here are some previous winners: