
 

 

Fire Protection Contractor Licensing Requirements                
 
Applicable statutes and rules 
The applicable statutes and rules can be found in the following:  
• Fire Protection Licensing Statutes: Minnesota Statutes, chapter 299M. 

• Fire Protection Licensing Rules: Minnesota Rules, part 7512. 

The following is a summary of the requirements to be licensed as a fire protection contractor in 
Minnesota. This allows you to perform “fire protection-related work” in Minnesota. 

Fire protection-related work 
Fire protection-related work is defined in the rules as the following activities related to fire sprinkler or 
standpipe systems: 
• Selling (including bidding or offering to do the work). 

• Designing a system. 

• Installing a system. 

• Modifying a system. 

• Inspecting a system. 

Contractor requirements for licensure 
In order to obtain a fire protection contractor’s license, the following are required: 
• Every contractor must have a managing employee (ME) who is an employee of the company 

and is responsible for ensuring that all work complies with the legally adopted codes, 
standards, and fire protection laws and rules. Failure to do this can result in the suspension or 
revocation of the ME’s certificate or the contractor’s license. The ME is the point of contact for 
all issues related to fire protection plan reviews and installations. 

• All fire protection-related work must be performed by the ME or a certified journeyman sprinkler 
fitter. Both of these occupations are required to have a certificate from the State Fire Marshal 
Division (SFMD). 

• All fire protection system design must be performed by employees of a Minnesota-licensed fire 
protection contractor. 

• Permits are required for all installations and modifications. 

• Fire protection contractors must have liability insurance (minimum coverage: $250,000 per 
person; $500,000 per occurrence; and $100,000 property damage). 

 

https://www.revisor.mn.gov/statutes/cite/299M
https://www.revisor.mn.gov/rules/7512/
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• Fire protection contractors must have a $30,000 performance bond on file with the SFMD. 

• Pay a surcharge of 0.2 percent of project cost to the SFMD for all permits obtained through 
local communities that perform their own fire protection plan reviews. 

• Payment of license fee: 

o Original license fee: $575. 

o Annual renewal fee (due by May 31 each year): $500 ($550 if received on or after 
June 1). 

Managing employee certification 
MEs must be certified. To receive certification, they must successfully pass an exam with a score of 
70 percent or higher. To be eligible to take the managing employee exam, the candidate must show 
one of the following: 

• Documentation of 10,000 hours of experience performing fire protection-related work. 

• Certification by the National Institute for Certification in Engineering Technologies (NICET) at 
level III or IV certification in the field of fire protection and subfield of automatic sprinkler system 
layout (currently called fire protection water-based systems layout).  

• Licensure as a professional engineer under Minnesota Statutes, section 326.03, with 
competency in fire protection system design. 

Journeyman sprinkler fitter certification 
Journeyman sprinkler fitters are required to be certified. To receive certification, they must 
successfully pass an exam with a score of 70 percent or higher. To be eligible to take the journeyman 
sprinkler fitter exam, the candidate must show one of the following: 

• Documentation of 8,000 hours of experience performing fire protection-related work. 

• Completion of a state or federal apprenticeship program for journeyman sprinkler fitters where 
the candidate was engaged in learning the trade under the direct supervision of a journeyman 
sprinkler fitter.  

License and certificate renewals 
Licenses and certificates are valid from July 1 until June 30. Renewal notices are sent out in mid-
April, and renewals are due by May 31. MEs and journeyman fitters must receive a minimum of 10 
hours of continuing education during each renewal period. 
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