
Understand and 

Prevent Youth 

Firesetting 

 In the state of Minnesota a child as 

young as 10-years-old who plays 

with fire and damages property 

may  be charged with arson.   

 Juvenile arson accounts for more 

than 50% of the total arson ar-

rests in Minnesota.  

 Statistics show that of the children 

killed in fires, more than 50% of 

those children started the fires 

themselves. 

 

If you know a child at risk: 

call the Youth Firesetting 

Helpline  

1-800-500-8897 

Prevent Juvenile 

Arson 

Youth Firesetting Helpline 

 

1-800-500-8897 

Minnesota Department of Public Safety 

445 Minnesota Street #145 

St. Paul, MN 55101-5145 

 

Phone: 651-201-7220 

Web: https://dps.mn.gov 

E-mail: kathi.osmonson@state.mn.us 

For School Staff 



The Minnesota State Fire Marshal’s Office sponsors the youth 

firesetting helpline for anyone involved with children at risk of 

firesetting behavior ~ parents, teachers, school staff, social 

services, law enforcement & others. 

Youth Firesetting Helpline 

1-800-500-8897 

Youth Firesetting 
Children are naturally curious about fire.  

When this curiosity becomes experimental it is 

dangerous ~ even deadly ~ not only to the 

child and those in the area, but also to fire-

fighters and emergency personnel who re-

spond to the scene.   

In Minnesota, juveniles as young as 10-years-

old can be charged with criminal arson.   Re-

search shows that by the time a child is 

caught playing with fire there have been ten 

previous fire starting events.  (Dr. Dian Wil-

liams, Understanding the Arsonist: From As-

sessment to Confession)   Early intervention 

curbs this behavior.  Children possessing 

matches or lighters, or gasoline,  are showing 

a strong interest in fire, and firesetting will 

naturally follow. 

Juvenile Arson 
Juvenile arson is grossly underreported.  Fami-

lies may not know  that confidential help is 

available.    The goal is not to give the 

child a “record” or send him/her to “Juvie” 

but to implement appropriate intervention 

strategies.   

The Bureau of Criminal Apprehension re-

ports an upward trend in juvenile arson 

arrests over the last 5 years.  In 2010 

there were 100 kids charged with criminal 

arson across the State as compared to 65 

in 2007.    These are kids over the age of 

10; many more incidents involved younger 

children. The  US Fire Administration re-

ports that children younger than 10 start 

75% of the youth set fires. 

Let’s find these kids before they get 

in trouble!  Keep an eye out for any child 

who smells like gasoline.  In 2012 more 

than one child brought gasoline to school 

with the intention of starting a fire.  They 

were caught only by the smell of gasoline 

on their hands, and later found on surveil-

lance video lighting a fire in the bathroom.   

Also, watch for kids in possession of light-

ers, and call the help line. 

Schools Can Help 

Any student who brings to school 

ignition devices, such as matches, 

lighters or fuel such as gasoline 

needs help.   By calling the toll-free 

help line, school staff can initiate 

the  intervention process for a stu-

dent.  The help line is monitored 

daily.   

The child’s family contact infor-

mation will be forwarded to the lo-

cal youth-firesetting intervention 

specialist so the child and family 

can receive life-saving information 

and education.  There are several 

programs available in Minnesota 

designed to change the behavior of 

youth at risk. 


