Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
SFM Logo

State Fire Marshal

A Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety

School Inspections


National School Fire Loss Report - Minnesota Comparison

The United States Fire Administration recently released a report of school fire safety. Nationally, the average loss per school fire was $25,349 during the three year period from 2003 - 2005. During 2006 in Minnesota there were 76 school fires reported in all types of educational occupancies (K-12, college, university, pre-school). Those fires did a total of $177,567 in damage, or $2,337 average loss per fire. Minnesota's average loss per fire was only 9% of the national average loss per fire.

National Report

Comprehensive School Safety Guide


​ ​​​