Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee

Setting a vision for juvenile justice in Minnesota

JJAC Members

About Membership

The Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee members are appointed by the Governor's Office and are composed of representatives from private non-profits, resource practitioners for juveniles and government officials and administrators. Members are typically appointed to serve four-year renewable terms.  


Vacancies are posted on the Secretary of State web site  ( for open appointments. For questions, contact Callie Aguilar, 651-201-7348.


Juvenile Justice Advisory Committee

Chyenne Boyce, Youth Member
Freddie Davis-English, Co-Chair, DMC Committee, Plymouth
Christopher Downing, Youth Member, Princeton
William Dykes, Youth Member, Saint Paul
Richard Gardell, Chair, Minneapolis
Rodney Hanson
Chief Scott Knight, Chaska
Amadu Koneh
Rhonda Larkin
Chong Lo, Co-Chair, DMC Committee, Saint Cloud
Samantha Loe, Youth Member, Arden Hills
Honorable Michael Mayer, Co-Vice Chair, Eagan
Shelley McBride, Rochester
Hao Nguyen, Co-Chair, Core Protections Committee, Brooklyn Center
Kathryn Richtman, Co-Chair, Core Protections Committee, Saint Paul
Richard Smith, Plymouth
Antonio Tejeda, Willmar

Ex Officio Members

Matthew Bauer     MN JDA /Dakota County Juvenile Services Center
Lynn Douma         Department of Employment and Economic Development
Ryan Erdmann
Jane Schmid        Minnesota Correctional Association    
Shon Thieren        MN Department of Corrections /MCF- Red Wing
Lauren Ryan         Minnesota Department of Health
Nicole Kern           Minnesota Association of Community Corrections Act Counties
James Schneider Minnesota Association of County Probation Officers
Curtis Shanklin     MN Juvenile Detention Alternatives Initiative
Bill Wyss              MN Department of Human Services


Dept. of Corrections Inspection Team                           Department  of Public Safety

Lisa Cain Becking                                                          Callie Aguilar, Juvenile Justice Specialist
Greg Croucher                                                                Allison Scott, Office Administrator               
Sarah G. Johnson                                                     
Julie Snyder                                                                    
Timothy Thompson
Teresa Smith