
 
 

APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS/PROCEDURES 
 
 
The State of Minnesota requires licensing for Private Detectives and Protective Agents as defined in Minnesota Statutes 
326.32 to 326.339.  This information sheet summarizes the key requirements and procedures involved.  For specific 
language, refer to the statutes. 
 
Definitions regarding the application process can be found in the introductory portion of the statute.  For identification 
purposes, the following positions will require that distinctions be made: 
 
APPLICANT: Any person making application for a private detective or protective agent license on an individual license 

level. 
 
QUALIFIED REPRESENTATIVE: 
  The individual involved in the day to day management and supervision of the licensed activity in a 

partnership or corporation.  The Qualified Representative must meet all qualification standards as dictated by 
statute. 

 
MINNESOTA MANAGER: 
  This position is required when the license applicant (either a partnership or corporation) is based outside 

MN and plans a business location within MN to regularly conduct business.  The candidate must meet the 
same experience qualifications as the Qualified Representative. 

 
Listed are some of the basic requirements of applicants, qualified representatives, Minnesota managers, and those parties 
signing the application: 
 
1.  Each person signing the application must be at least 18 years of age. 
2.  Each person must have a record free of felony convictions, and no record of convictions of offenses stipulated in statute 
3.  The applicant must supply a $10,000 Surety Bond (private detective or protective agent) at the time of  application. 
4.  The applicant must supply Proof of Financial Responsibility at the time of application (see Statute for option fulfillment).  
5.  Complete required application materials and supporting documents. 
6.  Be of good character, honesty and integrity. 
 
EXPERIENCE - PRIVATE DETECTIVE 
 
The applicant, qualified representative or Minnesota Manager for a PRIVATE DETECTIVE license must provide 
documentation supporting a minimum of 6,000 hours of employment, as an investigator in one or more of the following 
areas, showing competency and ability: 
 
1. Employed as an investigator with a licensed private detective agency. 
2. Employed as an investigator with a United States government investigative service. 
3. Employed as an investigator for a city police department or sheriff's office. 
4. Be employed in an occupation the Board finds equivalent in scope, responsibility and training as one of the specific 

occupations listed above. 
 
 



EXPERIENCE - PROTECTIVE AGENT 
 
The applicant, qualified representative or Minnesota Manager for a PROTECTIVE AGENT license must provide 
documentation supporting a minimum of 6,000 hours of employment in one or more of the following areas, showing 
competency and ability: 
 
1. Employed in a protective/security capacity with a licensed protective agent, or in a protective/security or investigative 

capacity for a licensed private detective.  Have experience in security systems, audits and supervision. 
2. Employed in a protective/security or investigator capacity with a United States government investigative service. 
3. Employed in a protective/security or investigator capacity with a city police department or sheriff's office. 
4. Be employed in an occupation the Board finds equivalent in scope, responsibility and training as one of the specific 

occupations listed above. 
 
EACH PERSON signing the application (i.e. Qualified Representative, Applicant, Minnesota Manager, Chief 
Executive Officer, Chief Financial Officer and/or Partner) must comply with the following: 
 
1. Complete appropriate application forms (with appropriate signatures). 
2. Complete a criminal history request form. 
3. Submit a recent photograph and a full set of fingerprints. 
4. Provide five references (not related by blood or marriage) who have known the subject for a minimum of five years. 
5. The Qualified Representative and/or Minnesota Manager must provide documentation of work experience (as 

outlined). 
 
Contact the Board office regarding a change in licensing for protective agent services for vehicle escort services. 
  
Upon written request and receipt of a non-refundable application fee of $25 (check or money order payable to the Board of 
Private Detective and Protective Agent Services), an application packet will be mailed.  State the type (Private Detective or 
Protective Agent) and level (individual, partnership or corporation) of license application you would like to receive, 
including your full name and address. 
 
LICENSE FEE SCHEDULE: (Fees listed below are current as of July 1, 2001.) 
 

PRIVATE DETECTIVE: PROTECTIVE AGENT (same for Escort Services): 
Individual              $1,000.00 Individual                      $800.00 
Partnership/LLP    $1,700.00 Partnership/LLP          $1,600.00 
Corporation/LLC   $1,900.00 Corporation/LLC         $1,800.00 
 
All checks or money orders should be made payable to the "Private Detective and Protective Agent Services Board."  In 
the event an application for license is denied, one-half of the initial license fee will be refunded. 
 
Questions can be addressed to the Board office at 651-793-2666 (TTY 651-282-6555) or mn.pdb@state.mn.us  
 
Completed applications must be submitted to the Board's administrative office at: 1430 East Maryland Avenue 
 St. Paul, MN 55106 
 
NOTE:  License holders and their employees are subject to mandated training.  For more information go to 
www.pdpaboard.state.mn.us or contact the Board office. 
 


