

## STATE OF MINNESOTA BOARD OF PRIVATE DETECTIVE AND PROTECTIVE AGENT SERVICES 1430 Maryland Ave E St Paul MN 55106-2802

## **Requirements and Procedures for Application**

The State of Minnesota requires licensing for Private Detectives and Protective Agents services, as defined in Minnesota Statutes §326.32 to §326.339. The following is an overview of the requirements and procedures for licensing.

**WHO CAN APPLY**: Sole Proprietor (Individual), Partnership/LLP, or Corporation/Limited Liability Company (LLC)

- An <u>Individual</u> is a person making application for a private detective or protective agent license as a sole proprietor, and is the day-to-day manager and supervisor of the licensed activity. (It is <u>not</u> an employee of a licensed firm.) This person may or may not have employees. NOTE: A person who has a corporation relating to the business cannot be licensed as an individual and must apply as the corporation.
- A <u>Partnership</u> or <u>Corporation/LLC</u> with a **QUALIFIED REPRESENTATIVE** candidate (an individual who is the day-to-day manager and supervisor of the licensed activity in a partnership or corporation).
- A **MINNESOTA MANAGER** is required when the license applicant (partnership, corporate/LLC) is based outside Minnesota and plans a business location within Minnesota to regularly conduct business.

**<u>BASIC REQUIREMENTS</u>**: Listed below are <u>some</u> of the basic requirements for all applicants (including Qualified Representatives, Minnesota Managers, and all parties required to sign the application form):

- Each person signing the application must be at least 18 years of age.
- Each person must have a record free of felony convictions and no record of convictions of offenses identified in statute (see Minn. Stat. §326.3381 subd. 3 (1)).
- A \$10,000 Surety Bond (private detective or protective agent) at the time of application.
- Acceptable Proof of Financial Responsibility documentation (see Minn. Stat. §326.3382 subd. 3 (c), with options referenced in §326.3382 subd. 3 (d), (e), or (f)).
- Complete required application materials and supporting documents.
- Be of good character, honesty, and integrity.
- Mandatory employment experience (see below).

## EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS:

**PRIVATE DETECTIVE**: An Individual (sole proprietor), or the Qualified Representative (and Minnesota Manager for an out-of-state applicant), must be able to document a minimum of 6,000 hours of investigative employment experience in one or more of the following:

- Employed as an **investigator** with a licensed private detective/investigative agency.
- Employed as an **investigator** with a U.S. government investigative service.
- Employed as an investigator for a city police department or sheriff's office.
- Be employed in an investigative occupation the board finds equivalent in scope, responsibility, and training as one of the specific occupations listed above.

- continued -

**PROTECTIVE AGENT:** An Individual (sole proprietor), or the Qualified Representative (and Minnesota Manager for an out-of-state applicant), must be able to document a minimum of 6,000 hours of security/protective employment experience in one or more of the following:

- Employed in a protective/security capacity with a licensed protective agent, or in a protective/security • for investigative capacity for a licensed private detective.
- Employed in a protective/security or investigator capacity with a U.S. government investigative service. •
- Employed in a protective/security or investigator capacity with a city police department or sheriff's • office.
- Be employed in an occupation the board finds equivalent in scope, responsibility and training as one of • the specific occupations listed above.

Note: Each of the protective agent employment items referenced above must include experience in security systems, audits, and supervision of security personnel.

**SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS:** EACH PERSON signing the application (Individual Applicant, Qualified Representative, Chief Executive Officer, Chief Financial Officer, and Minnesota Manager if applicable) must comply with the following:

- Complete all application forms for the license for which you are applying. •
- Complete an informed consent criminal history form.
- Submit a recent (durable) photograph and a full set of fingerprints.
- Provide five (5) references (from people who are not related by blood or marriage) who have known the • subject for a minimum of five (5) years.
- The Qualified Representative and Minnesota Manager must include documentation of work experience • (with completed releases).

LICENSE FEE SCHEDULE: (Fees listed below are current as of July 1, 2001)

PRIVATE DETECTIVE:		PROTECTIVE AGENT:	
Individual	\$1,000.00	Individual	\$ 800.00
Partnership/LLP	\$1,700.00	Partnership/LLP	\$1,600.00
Corporation/LLC	\$1,900.00	Corporation/LLC	\$1,800.00

All checks or money orders should be made payable to the "Private Detective and Protective Agent Services Board".

**NOTE:** License holders and their employees are subject to mandated training. For more information go to https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb or contact the board office.

## Contact the board office regarding licensing for protective agent services for vehicle escort services only.

If you have additional questions, contact the board office at (651) 793-2669 (TTY (651) 282-6555) or via email at mn.pdb@state.mn.us.

To receive an application package: You must submit a **non-refundable fee of \$25** (check or money order payable to "Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services") with a written request that specifies the type of license you are interested in (Private Detective or Protective Agent) and the level (individual. partnership or corporation/LLC). If your application for license is denied, one-half of the license fee will be refunded.