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STATE OF MINNESOTA  

BOARD OF PRIVATE DETECTIVE AND PROTECTIVE AGENT SERVICES 
1430 Maryland Ave E 

St Paul MN  55106-2802 
 

Requirements and Procedures for Application 
 

The State of Minnesota requires licensing for Private Detectives and Protective Agents services, as defined in 
Minnesota Statutes §326.32 to §326.339.  The following is an overview of the requirements and procedures 
for licensing.   
 

 
WHO CAN APPLY:  Sole Proprietor (Individual), Partnership/LLP, or Corporation/Limited Liability Company 
(LLC) 

 
 An Individual is a person making application for a private detective or protective agent license as a sole 

proprietor, and is the day-to-day manager and supervisor of the licensed activity.  (It is not an employee of 
a licensed firm.)  This person may or may not have employees.  NOTE:  A person who has a corporation 
relating to the business cannot be licensed as an individual and must apply as the corporation. 
 

 A Partnership or Corporation/LLC with a QUALIFIED REPRESENTATIVE candidate (an individual who is 
the day-to-day manager and supervisor of the licensed activity in a partnership or corporation). 
 

 A MINNESOTA MANAGER is required when the license applicant (partnership, corporate/LLC) is based 
outside Minnesota and plans a business location within Minnesota to regularly conduct business. 

 
BASIC REQUIREMENTS:  Listed below are some of the basic requirements for all applicants (including 
Qualified Representatives, Minnesota Managers, and all parties required to sign the application form): 
 
 Each person signing the application must be at least 18 years of age. 
 Each person must have a record free of felony convictions and no record of convictions of offenses 

identified in statute (see Minn. Stat. §326.3381 subd. 3 (1)).   
 A $10,000 Surety Bond (private detective or protective agent) at the time of application. 
 Acceptable Proof of Financial Responsibility documentation (see Minn. Stat. §326.3382 subd. 3 (c), with 

options referenced in §326.3382 subd. 3 (d), (e), or (f)).  
 Complete required application materials and supporting documents. 
 Be of good character, honesty, and integrity. 
 Mandatory employment experience (see below). 
 
EXPERIENCE REQUIREMENTS: 

 
PRIVATE DETECTIVE:  An Individual (sole proprietor), or the Qualified Representative (and Minnesota 
Manager for an out-of-state applicant), must be able to document a minimum of 6,000 hours of 
investigative employment experience in one or more of the following: 
 
 Employed as an investigator with a licensed private detective/investigative agency. 
 Employed as an investigator with a U.S. government investigative service. 
 Employed as an investigator for a city police department or sheriff's office. 
 Be employed in an investigative occupation the board finds equivalent in scope, responsibility, and 

training as one of the specific occupations listed above. 
 

-  continued - 
  



 
PROTECTIVE AGENT:  An Individual (sole proprietor), or the Qualified Representative (and Minnesota 
Manager for an out-of-state applicant), must be able to document a minimum of 6,000 hours of 
security/protective employment experience in one or more of the following: 

 
 Employed in a protective/security capacity with a licensed protective agent, or in a protective/security 

for investigative capacity for a licensed private detective. 
 Employed in a protective/security or investigator capacity with a U.S. government investigative service. 
 Employed in a protective/security or investigator capacity with a city police department or sheriff's 

office. 
 Be employed in an occupation the board finds equivalent in scope, responsibility and training as one of 

the specific occupations listed above. 
 

Note: Each of the protective agent employment items referenced above must include experience in 
security systems, audits, and supervision of security personnel. 

 
SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS:  EACH PERSON signing the application (Individual Applicant, Qualified 
Representative, Chief Executive Officer, Chief Financial Officer, and Minnesota Manager if applicable) must 
comply with the following: 
 
 Complete all application forms for the license for which you are applying. 
 Complete an informed consent criminal history form. 
 Submit a recent (durable) photograph and a full set of fingerprints. 
 Provide five (5) references (from people who are not related by blood or marriage) who have known the 

subject for a minimum of five (5) years. 
 The Qualified Representative and Minnesota Manager must include documentation of work experience 

(with completed releases). 
 
LICENSE FEE SCHEDULE:  (Fees listed below are current as of July 1, 2001) 

 
 PRIVATE DETECTIVE:   PROTECTIVE AGENT: 

Individual    $1,000.00  Individual      $   800.00 
Partnership/LLP  $1,700.00  Partnership/LLP $1,600.00 
Corporation/LLC $1,900.00  Corporation/LLC $1,800.00 

 
All checks or money orders should be made payable to the “Private Detective and Protective Agent 
Services Board”.   

 
 
NOTE: License holders and their employees are subject to mandated training.  For more information go to 

https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb or contact the board office. 
 
Contact the board office regarding licensing for protective agent services for vehicle escort services 
only. 
  
If you have additional questions, contact the board office at (651) 793-2666 (TTY (651) 282-6555) or via 
email at mn.pdb@state.mn.us. 
 
 

 

To receive an application package:  You must submit a non-refundable fee of $25 (check or money order 
payable to “Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services”) with a written request that specifies the 
type of license you are interested in (Private Detective or Protective Agent) and the level (individual, 
partnership or corporation/LLC).  If your application for license is denied, one-half of the license fee will be 
refunded. 


