
TRAINING REQUIREMENTS 
General Information 

 
 

Pursuant to Minnesota Statute §326.3361, the Board of Private Detective and Protective Agent Services has 
prescribed training requirements.  Training requirements are set forth in Administrative Rules, Chapter 7506 
(available upon request or through the Board’s web site). 
 
You have requested application materials for Private Detective or Protective Agent licensing.  In the event that a 
license is granted to you, compliance with these training requirements is a requirement to maintain a license. 
 
The types of training involved are: 
 

Private Detective/Investigator 
 

Preassignment Training – Investigator (12 hours Initial) 
Continuing Training – Investigator (6 hours Annually) 

 
 

Protective Agent 
 

Preassignment Training – Protective Agent (12 hours Initial) 
Continuing Training – Protective Agent (6 hours Annually) 

 
 

Armed Training for Investigators and/or Protective Agents 
 

*Armed Training (Initial) – To include First Aid and CPR 
Armed Continuing Training (6 hours annually, in addition to general 

continuing training described above) 
 
 

*Armed means firearm, baton, asp, or any other control device.  
 
When licensed, should you choose to hire employees (pursuant to §326.336), you will be responsible to ensure 
that those employees have received or are provided with the appropriate 12 hours of Preassignment training 
within the first 21 days of their employment.  
 
If you do not intend to be armed, or arm your employees, you will not need to be concerned with the armed 
training components (initial or continuing). 
 
Training will be required for the license holder, Qualified Representative, Minnesota Manager, Partner(s), 
Corporate Officer(s), and employees who carryout licensed services. 
 
A license holder may apply to the Board to be a training provider, or may determine that required training will be 
secured from a training provider approved by the Board. 
 
Documents concerning training may be obtained by accessing the Board’s website at https://dps.mn.gov/entity/pdb.  
If you do not have Internet access, you may contact the Board office at 651/793-2666, and a package of the 
materials will be forwarded to you.  You may also contact the Board via e-mail at mn.pdb@state.mn.us. 


