Restoration of Peace Officer License
When your license expires due to your not having renewed it by the expiration date, you may restore it in one of two ways, depending on how much time has passed since your expiration date.
If it expired within the past three years, you may restore it by documenting 48 hours of continuing education and paying the restoration fee of $125.00. Contact the POST Board to obtain the necessary forms.
If it has been expired more than three years, you can restore it only through testing. The restoration licensing exam is similar to the basic peace officer licensing exam you took when finishing your PPOE program. It is based on the current learning objectives, which can be found elsewhere on this website. The peace officer licensing examination is a comprehensive licensing examination based on the current curriculum taught in Minnesota's Professional Peace Officer Education programs.
To prepare for the examination you should acquire and study the latest editions of the Learning Objectives for Professional Peace Officer Education
and Minnesota Criminal Code and Selected Statutes
. These publications may be obtained from Minnesota's Bookstore, 660 Olive Street, St. Paul MN 55101, phone (651) 297-3000. Alternatively, the statutes are available on the internet on the state of Minnesota web page:http://www.state.mn.us/leg/statutes
The peace officer licensing restoration examination is administered at 8:30 a.m. on the third Tuesday of every month at the POST Board offices. Your non-refundable fee and application must be received in our office at least fourteen days prior to your requested examination date.
For an application and the fee information required to restore your peace officer license, please contact Peggy Strand at 651-201-7782.