Teen Driving Talking Points
Key Messages
1) Traffic crashes are the second leading killer of 16 and 17 year olds in Minnesota behind suicide. 

· Due to inexperience, distractions and risk-taking, teens are one of the worst groups of drivers in Minnesota.  In 2019, teens (15-19) made up just 6 percent of all licensed drivers.  Yet, they made up 16 percent of all drivers involved in traffic crashes.

· In 2019, there were 26 teenage traffic deaths (13–19), a decrease from the 29 teen deaths in 2018.  Teen deaths in Minnesota have decreased overall in the past decade.  (There were 47 teen deaths in 2010).
· In 2019, only 52 percent of killed motor vehicle occupant teens (13-19) were known to be buckled up.

2) Alcohol, a cause for concern.

· In 2019, 10 percent of all teen (15-19) drivers involved in fatal crashes were known to be drinking. 
· In 2019, 672 teen drivers (15-19) were arrested for DWI.
· In 2019, 369 people under 21 were convicted for “not-a-drop” violations.   These occur when a driver has alcohol in their systems but they did not test at the .08 level or above.
3) Enhanced graduated driver’s license law encourages parents and teens to work together.

· Requires all driver education programs to offer parent awareness classes, which provide information on teen driving risks, laws, and the important role parents play in influencing teen safe driving behaviors.

· Train teens on a variety of road types (city, highway, rural) and conditions (night, snow, rain).

· Reinforce teen driving laws such as seat belt use (front and back seats); passenger and nighttime driving limitations; no cell phone use; and no texting/email/Web access (including when stopped in traffic).

· Use a driving contract to set family driving rules and follow through with consequences.

· Increases the minimum number of hours teens must practice driving before licensure and requires a supervised driving log. 

· Teen drivers under 18 must obtain at least 50 hours of supervised driving experience, of which at least 15 must be at night.  

· If the parent or guardian completes the 90-minute parent awareness class, the number of hours a teen is required to spend behind the wheel is reduced from a minimum of 50 to 40.

Talking Points
Traffic crashes are a leading killer of Minnesota teens. A major reason is that teens are the most inexperienced drivers on the road. They take the most risks and they also have the lowest belt use rate. 
It is so important for parents to stay involved in their teens’ driving, just as you would stay involved in their grades and other activities. The key to developing safe teen drivers is to provide supervised experience — a lot of “windshield time.”
A teen driver is almost twice as likely as an adult driver to be involved in a traffic crash. The key is supervised experience. The more experience, the safer the driver.

Continue to monitor and train your teen even after licensure — give them exposure in a variety of conditions and environments — city, rural, rain, snow, etc. 
It’s important for parents to establish clear, sensible rules with teen drivers to reduce their exposure to risky situations. Realize the laws limiting nighttime driving, passenger limitations, cell phone bans. Remember, it’s illegal for new teen drivers to use cell phones while driving and the law limits all drivers to hands free cell phone use. 

Another key to safe teen driving ultimately comes down to teens speaking up in a vehicle to stop unsafe behaviors. We need teens to use their voice and speak up if the driver is driving too fast, not paying attention/texting; if others aren’t belted, or if passengers are being too rowdy. Parents need to do their part to encourage this.

Distracted driving is a serious safety issue for all drivers, but especially for teen drivers who are so inexperienced behind the wheel. Teens are more likely to engage in distracted driving or risky behaviors such as texting (which is illegal); carry rowdy passengers, eating, scrolling the iPod or searching radio stations. 

It’s important for parents to be a positive role model behind the wheel: belt up, drive at safe speeds, put down the cell, don’t drive aggressively, and never drive after you’ve been drinking. 

Graduated Driver’s Licensing Law 

A nighttime driving limitation during the first six months of licensure prohibits teens from driving midnight–5 a.m., unless the teen is accompanied by a licensed driver age 25 or older. Other exceptions include driving between home and place of employment, for employment purposes, and to/from home and a school event for which the school has not provided transportation.
Passenger limitation for the first six months of licensure allows only one passenger under the age of 20, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. During the second six months of licensure, no more than three passengers under the age of 20 are permitted, unless accompanied by a parent or guardian. Passengers under age 20 who are members of the immediate family are permitted for both periods. 

No Cell Phone Law

Teens with a permit or provisional license cannot use a cell phone at all while driving. A provisional license is what a new driver has during first year of licensure.

No Texting/Emailing/Web Access

No drivers of any age can compose/read/send texts or emails, or use wireless devices while driving. Furthermore, any cell phone use must be ‘hands free’.
Underage Drinking

Not a Drop Law —Driving minors cited for alcohol use will lose their license from 30 to 180 days, and face up to a $700 fine and 90 days in jail. 

Vanessa’s Law — Minors will lose their license until age 18 if they are arrested for DWI or involved in an impaired driving crash or crime. 

Trying to purchase alcohol with a fake ID can result in a loss of driving privileges for at least 90 days. 

Providing alcohol to minors is a serious issue with serious consequences. Adults who provide alcohol to minors can be held responsible and suffer serious criminal, legal, and financial consequences including: felony charges and prison time in the case of death; civil liability charges in the case of injury, property damage or death; and increased insurance rates. 

PAGE  
1

