Under Minnesota law, individuals must obtain a permit to carry a handgun in public. There is no stipulation in the law regarding whether that weapon must be concealed. A permit to carry constitutes a permit to purchase. To obtain a permit to carry, fill out a Permit to Carry Application and submit it to the sheriff’s office in the county where you reside.
Once received, the office has 30 days to process the application. A permit to carry is valid for five years and authorizes unlimited purchases within that time period. For additional information pertaining to handgun legislation, refer to state laws or call the office of the Minnesota Attorney General at 651-296-3353.
Frequently asked questions about Minnesota's Personal Protection Act
Note to Federal Firearms Licensees and Permit Holders: The Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) on October 19, 2018, issued a letter to the BCA stating, "All Minnesota Federal Firearms Licensees are required to conduct a NICS background check prior to the transfer of a firearm to a non-licensee even if that person presents a valid Permit to Carry." If you have any questions please call the ATF's Firearms Industry Programs Branch at 202-648-7190.
Minnesota Statutes, section 624.714, subd. 2a requires permit to carry applicants to present evidence of having received from a certified instructor training in the safe use of a handgun within one year of an original application or renewal.
The Department of Public Safety is performing website maintenance that is resulting in difficulty accessing the sortable list of approved firearms training businesses. The following link provides approved businesses current as of December 2, 2021.
Minnesota Statutes, 624.714, subd. 16
requires that states have similar standards in order to be granted permit to carry reciprocity
. In determining which states currently meet that standard, the Department of Public Safety considers a number of components including handgun training requirements, use of criminal background checks, mutual reciprocity issues, as well as prohibitions for criminal convictions and civil commitments. Another crucial consideration is other states’ ability to provide Minnesota law enforcement personnel with confirmation of permit validity 24 hours a day, 7 days a week.