Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Driver's License Fees

All fees include a $1 technology surcharge (except those asterisked***) - Reference: Minnesota Statutes, section 171.06.

Effective January 1, 2014, the driver’s license filing fee, which pays for the costs of the services provided in the driver’s license/ID card issuance process, increased from $5 to $8, as required by Minn. Stat. 171.061, HF 1444, Chapter 117. Fees listed below include this increase.

*Available at driver exam stations only
**Fee does not include the cost of a new license
***Fee does not include a $1 technology surcharge (The $1 technology surcharge is not applicable for reinstatement fees)
 
 
Driver’s Licenses

 Fee
Class A, regular
$45.25
Class A, under age 21
$25.25
Class B, regular or under age 21
$37.25
Class C, regular or under age 21
$30.25
**School Bus Processing Fee - original and renewal applications
$4
Class D, regular or under age 21
$26.25
Provisional Driver’s License
$17.25
Class D Provisional License upgrade to under age 21 driver’s license-no violations on record ($3.50 credit)
$22.75
Duplicate Driver’s License - all classes
$15.75
**Enhanced Driver's License (in addition to applicable Driver's License card fee)​ ​$15

 Identification Cards
Fee
 
Under Age 65
$20.25
***Age 65 and Older
$16.50
***Physical Disability, Developmental Disability or Qualified Mental Illness
$.50
**​Enhanced Identification Card (in addition to applicable ID card fee) ​$15
 
Permits/Endorsements
 Fee
Class D Instruction Permit (valid for 2 years)
$14.25
*Class A, B or C Instruction Permit
no fee
*Endorsement Examination Fees
$2.50
*Motorcycle Instruction Permit/Endorsement Fee
$21
*Motorcycle Endorsement Renewal (2-wheel only)
$13
**Standby or Temporary Custodian Designation
$4.25

​**Expedited (Fast Track) Services

 

​Fee

 

​Driver's License and Identification Card
Note: Driver's License or Identification Cards will be processed within three (3) business days. Customer should receive the card via UPS (United Parcel Service) within 10 business days. Refer to the DVS Office Locations Map to see participating offices.
​$20 

 

Reinstatement

 

 

Fee

 

 

**Revoked licenses

 

Alcohol/Drugs/Criminal Vehicular Operation (Effective 7/1/03)
$680
Other Offenses , including No-fault Insurance Revocation
$30
**Suspended license
$20
No-Fault Insurance (suspended)
$20
CDL Disqualification
$20

 

***Motorized Bicycle Operator’s Permit

 

 

Fee

 

*Knowledge Test and 30-Day Instruction Permit
$6.75
*Skills Test and One-Year Operator’s Permit
$6.75
*Duplicate of One-Year Operator’s Permit
$3.75
Renewal of One-Year Permit to age 21
$9.75
Duplicate of Renewal Permit
$5.25
Renewal, age 21 or older
$15.75

 

Retesting

 

 

Fee

 

*Third and Subsequent Knowledge Test after failing first two
$10
*Third and Subsequent Skills Test after failing first two
$20
 
 
Effective July 1, 2012 Minnesota’s $1.75 Technology Fee, applied to many driver and vehicle services transactions for several years to help pay for Driver and Vehicle Services technology upgrades, will be reduced to $1. Thus, several driver and vehicle transactions will reflect a new fee.