Back to Search Steps
Other Related Topics-Crash-Report a Crash
Anyone involved in a traffic crash must stop at the crash site. Call for law enforcement and an ambulance if needed. Provide reasonable assistance to anyone who sustained injuries in the crash.
All drivers involved in the crash should exchange names, addresses and vehicle license plate numbers, as well as showing driver’s licenses, if requested.
Collect names, addresses and vehicle license plate numbers of any witnesses.
The law enforcement officer investigating the crash will ask for evidence of vehicle insurance.
Minnesota Statutes, section 169.09, subdivision 7 was repealed effective 7/1/2021. Crash reports are no longer submitted to DPS-DVS.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the difference between a citizen's report and a police report?
Minnesota Statutes, section 169.09, subdivision 7 was repealed effective 7/1/2021. Citizen crash reports are no longer submitted to DPS-DVS.
How can I get a copy of a report that has been filed?
A citizen's report is one filed with our office by the individual involved in the crash. However, DVS also receives copies of police reports completed by the law enforcement agent present at the crash scene. While a police report does not contain insurance information, a citizen's report contains complete insurance information.
- A citizen report is only available to the person who submitted it. The fee is $5.
- Police reports are available only to the individuals involved in the crash or their authorized agent. Police reports are available three weeks after the incident. The fee is $5.