is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
Original Minnesota license plates may be registered for display on a collector class vehicle if they are part of a series no longer used or reserved for use.
How to obtain Collector Plates
Applications for registration in one of the collector classes must be made at a Deputy Registrar Office or by mailing an Application to Title and Register a Vehicle (PS2000) and the appropriate fees to:
Driver and Vehicle Services445 Minnesota Street Suite 164St. Paul, MN 55101You will be issued a 60-day permit if applying at a deputy registrar office so you may operate the vehicle until you receive your license plates in the mail.
Display: Recreational vehicles do not qualify for collector class plates. Collector class vehicles may display a single plate, on either the front or back of the vehicle owned or jointly owned by the applicant. Restrictions: Vehicles registered in any of the collector classes are restricted to operation solely as a collector's item and cannot be used for general transportation purposes. Personalized Collector Plates: Collector plates may be personalized at an additional cost.
Expiration: Registration is non-expiring.The Collector Classes
Pioneer plates may only be displayed on motor vehicles manufactured prior to 1936.
Classic plates may only be displayed on motor vehicles manufactured between and including the years 1925-1948, designated as a classic car under Minnesota Statutes, section 168.10 subdivision 1b , excluding any type of commercial or recreational vehicle.
Collector plates may only be displayed on motor vehicles (except recreational) that are at least 20 model years old and manufactured after 1935. At the time of application, the owners must certify that they have one or more vehicles registered with regular Minnesota license plates.
Classic Motorcycle Plate
Classic Motorcycle plates may be displayed on any motorcycle that is at least 20 model years old, original in appearance, and owned solely as a collector's item. At the time of application, the owners must certify that they have one or more vehicles registered with regular Minnesota license plates.
Original Minnesota Plates
Original plates are plates with an issue year that is the same as the vehicle model year, or that display a tab or registration sticker that is the same as the vehicle model year. For example, an original 1965 Minnesota license plate with a 1966 validation sticker may be displayed on a 1966 vehicle. Original Plates may be displayed on any vehicle that qualifies for collector registration or a vehicle that is at least 20 years old registered in the passenger class.
The original plate cannot conflict with a license plate series currently in use, or reserved for use by the department. They may not be displayed until DVS approves the application.
Street Rod License Plate Image
A $150 in lieu tax applies to passenger vehicles and fire trucks registered in or applying for registration in the collector classes such as Collector, Classic, Street Rod and Pioneer, regardless of actual purchase price or fair market value of vehicle. All other vehicles (trucks, one ton pickups, motorcycles) must pay 6.5 percent of the purchase price or fair market value.
There is a $25 one-time registration tax ($10 for Classic Motorcycle) that is due with the initial application.
For more information on Registration Tax, refer to the Registration Tax Page.
Single Plates: $13.50
Double Plates: $15
Filing Fee: $10
Plate Fee to record Original Plates: $10
Refer to License Plate Fee Page or contact DVS at (651) 297-2126 for more information on fees.
Collector: Minnesota Statute 168.10 subd. 1c
Street Rod: Minnesota Statute 168.10 subd. 1d
Pioneer: Minnesota Statute 168.10 subd. 1a
Classic: Minnesota Statute 168.10 subd. 1b
Classic Motorcycle: Minnesota Statute 168.105
Original Plates: Minnesota Statute 168.12 & 169.79
Application to Title and Register a Vehicle (PS2000)
Application for Special Plates (PS2010)
Special Plates Brochure
How many miles per year may I operate my Collector Vehicle?
Minnesota does not have a mileage restriction for collector class vehicles. Collector vehicles are to be operated only as a “Collector’s Item” and may not be used for general transportation. Generally driving to and from collector events (shows, parades) is acceptable. Check with local Law Enforcement for more specific issues.
Which Vehicles are considered “Classic” Cars?
Minnesota Statute 168.10 identifies cars considered classic.
Digital Plate Technology
In 2008, Minnesota began to transition to digital license plate (DLP) technology. For the past several years, Minnesota has used digital license plate technology to produce the Critical Habitat Loon and Support Our Troops license plates. In 2008, Minnesota began to transition passenger plates to DLP. Eventually, all license plates in Minnesota will be manufactured using the DLP system. Digital License Plates are flat. The license plate numbers produced for the DLP system are black. If you have questions about the DLP system, please contact DVS at (651) 284-3896.
It will take several years to transition all Minnesota plates to DLP. In the meantime, many vehicles will continue to display license plates that are made of reflectorized sheeting applied to steel or aluminum. In most cases the letter and number characters are embossed and are non-reflective.License plates issued to passenger automobiles and dealer license plates are replaced at seven (7) year intervals; all other license plates are issued for the life of the vehicle.
Driver and Vehicle Services – Central OfficeTown Square Building445 Minnesota Street, Suite 164Saint Paul, MN 55101-5164Email:Motor Vehicle DVS.firstname.lastname@example.orgPhone:Motor Vehicles: (651) 297-2126Special Plates: (651) 297-3166Digital License Plates: (651) 284-3896Office Locations: (651) 297-2005Assistance for Hearing Impaired Callers (TDD/TTY): (651) 282-6555
DVS Office Locations