is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
Personalized plates are available with the standard plate background for Passenger Automobiles and Pick-Up Trucks with up to seven (7) characters (including spaces).
Motorcycles, Mopeds, One-Ton Pickups and Self Propelled Recreational Vehicles are limited to six (6) characters.
The Personalized vertical motorcycle plate is limited to four (4) characters.
You must apply for personalized plates at a deputy registrar office or by mailing an Application for Special Plates (PS2010) and appropriate fees to:Driver and Vehicle Services445 Minnesota Street Suite 164St. Paul, MN 55101 -5164
Specialized Plates may be displayed on passenger class vehicles, one-ton pickups, motorcycles and self-propelled recreation vehicles (any gross weight).
Maximum number of characters allowed on license plate (including spaces and/or hyphens) is seven (7) for passenger class vehicles, personalized vertical motorcycle plates are limited to four (4), and personalized plates for all other vehicle types (one-ton, RV, standard motorcycle) are limited to six (6) characters (including spaces and/or hyphens).
Image of Personalized License Plate:
Your plate choice must include at least one alpha character . For more information regarding personalized plates please refer to the Special Plates Application.
Registration expiration depends on the class of vehicle registration (i.e. passenger, motorcycle, collector).
Double Plate IssueAll other vehicles are issued double plates to display on the front and back of the vehicle. This includes cars, vans, pickups, trucks and buses.
Registration Tax - Tax varies by vehicle, refer to the Registration Tax Page.
Contact your local Deputy Registrar for assistance in determining registration tax or email DVS at DVS.firstname.lastname@example.org
Initial Cost: $100
Filing Fee: $10
Replacement Plates: $14
Vertical Motorcycle plate Initial and replacement cost: $100
Refer to License Plate Fee Page or contact DVS at (651) 297-2126 for more information on fees.
Minnesota Statute 168.10
Minnesota Statute 168.12, subd. 2a.
Application for Special Plates (PS2010)
Minnesota Motor Vehicle Tax Manual (complete)
Additional Tax Manual documents are available on the Motor Vehicle Forms and Documents page, including the Calendar Year Base Value Chart, monthly tax tables, miscellaneous tax table, and an annual fee in monthly increments table.
May I get a personalized Critical Habitat plate?
Digital Plate Technology
In 2008, Minnesota began to transition to digital license plate (DLP) technology. For the past several years, Minnesota has used digital license plate technology to produce the Critical Habitat Loon and Support Our Troops license plates. In 2008, Minnesota began to transition passenger plates to DLP. Eventually, all license plates in Minnesota will be manufactured using the DLP system. Digital License Plates are flat. The license plate numbers produced for the DLP system are black. If you have questions about the DLP system, please contact DVS at (651) 284-3896.
It will take several years to transition all Minnesota plates to DLP. In the meantime, many vehicles will continue to display license plates that are made of reflectorized sheeting applied to steel or aluminum. In most cases the letter and number characters are embossed and are non-reflective.License plates issued to passenger automobiles and dealer license plates are replaced at seven (7) year intervals; all other license plates are issued for the life of the vehicle.
Driver and Vehicle Services – Central OfficeTown Square Building445 Minnesota Street, Suite 164Saint Paul, MN 55101-5164Email:Motor Vehicle DVS.email@example.comPhone:Motor Vehicles: (651) 297-2126Special Plates: (651) 297-3166Digital License Plates: (651) 284-3896Office Locations: (651) 297-2005Assistance for Hearing Impaired Callers (TDD/TTY): (651) 282-6555
DVS Office Locations
Motorcyle/Moped License Plate Page