DVS Logo

Driver and Vehicle Services

A Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety

What is REAL ID?

​Passed by Congress in 2005, the REAL ID Act establishes minimum security standards for state-issued driver's licenses and ID cards. The Act refers to federal anti-terrorism laws and regulations that control access to the following:
  • Federally regulated commercial aircraft.
  • Federal facilities requiring identification to enter, such as military bases or nuclear power facilities.
The Act prohibits federal agencies like the Transportation Security Administration (TSA) from accepting cards for official purposes from states that do not meet minimum security standards.
Federal enforcement and identification requirements

Minnesota in Full Compliance with the Federal REAL ID Act

Minnesota is in full compliance with the federal REAL ID Act. In November 2018, the U.S. Department of Homeland Security sent a letter to then Gov. Mark Dayton stating that the department completed its review and determined Minnesota has met all requirements to be in full compliance.​

Federal agencies will continue to accept standard Minnesota driver's licenses and identification cards for official purposes until May 7, 2025. Beginning May 7, 2025​, every air traveler 18 years of age or older will need a REAL ID, enhanced driver's license or ID, passport or another acceptable form of ID to fly within the United States or enter federal facilities.​