Homeland Security and Emergency Management

A Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Emergency Management Assistance Compact


The Emergency Management Assistance Compact (EMAC) is a mutual aid agreement and partnership between states. The partnership exists because all member states and territories share the constant threat of disaster. Minnesota Statute, section 192.89 governs interstate mutual aid as it pertains to EMAC.

Specifically, EMAC is designed to:

  • Allow states and territories to assist one another during emergencies.
    EMAC offers a quick and easy way for states to send personnel and equipment to help disaster relief efforts in impacted states. There are times when state and local resources are overwhelmed and federal assistance is inadequate or unavailable. Out-of-state aid through EMAC assists in filling such shortfalls.
  • Establish a firm legal foundation.
    Requests for EMAC assistance are legally binding, contractual arrangements, that make states requesting assistance responsible for reimbursing all out-of-state costs and liable for out-of-state personnel.
  • Provide fast and flexible assistance.
    EMAC allows states to ask for whatever type of assistance they require for any emergency response and recovery effort, however, states are not forced to send any resources unless they are capable and willing to do so. The EMAC system has been adopted nationally, which makes the process consistent for each participating state.

For more information, please visit the EMAC Website.