Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
 
MSP Logo

Minnesota State Patrol

A Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety
 

Law Enforcement Training

DPS Law Enforcement Training Courses

To sign up for a course, contact the host coordinator.
 
To host a training course, contact  Lt. Don Marose at 651-297-7132 or at Don.Marose@state.mn.us

Please review the list of sponsor responsibilities. SFST Sponsor Responsibilities.pdfSFST Sponsor Responsibilities.pdf 

Information on OTS Training Requirements 

 
SFST participant manual: 2018 SFST Student Manual-Part 1 of 2.pdf2018 SFST Student Manual-Part 1 of 2.pdf  
 
ARIDE participant manual:2018 ARIDE Student Manual.pdf2018 ARIDE Student Manual.pdf
 
 

Drug Evaluation and Classification (aka: DRE School) - 72 POST credits

Drug Evaluation and Classification (DECP) training is a very comprehensive course that utilizes classroom, hands-on, and practical exercises to insure that Drug Recognition Evaluators candidates are well prepared to use the skills necessary to perform the duties of a DRE.  Certification training dates are pending.  All equipment, supplies, housing, and travel costs are paid.
The next DRE School is set for October 28 - November 7 with Certification trips in November. 

DRE School application.pdfDRE School application.pdf

 
 

Standardized Field Sobriety Testing (SFST) - 16 POST credits

This 16-hour course will guide police officers through the traffic stop, the face-to-face interview, SFSTs, processing, report writing, and courtroom testimony. By incorporating classroom, dry run, and practical exercises, officers will be better prepared to detect and remove impaired drivers. 

Class Schedule

September 30-October 1
0800-1700
Location: Mahnomen County Sheriff's Office
Contact: Sheriff Josh Guenther at josh.guenther@co.mahnomen.mn.us

October 15-16
0800-1700
Location: Hibbing Police Department
Contact: Chief Steve Estey at 219-929-0776 or sestey@ci.hibbing.mn.us

November 4-5
0800-1700
Location: Saint Cloud PD
Contact: Dawn Shattuck  dawn.shattuck@ci.stcloud.mn.us

November 25-26
1200-2100
Location: Moorhead PD
Contact: Officer Nick Schultz  nicholas.schultz@moorheadpolice.com




SFST-DWI Update - 4 POST credits

This four-hour course will discuss the ever changing DWI law, the newest and most relevant court cases affecting law enforcement procedures, tips on solidifying your DWI case, and a refresher of SFST skills and techniques.
This is a refresher for those officers that have previously attended the 16-hour SFST course. 

Class Schedule 

September 30
1400-1800
Location: Cambridge PD
Contact: Officer Dan Owl  dowl@ci.cambridge.mn.us

October 15
1600-2000
Location: Hibbing Police Department
Contact: Chief Steve Estey at 219-929-0776 or sestey@ci.hibbing.mn.us

October 22
1300-1700
Location: Saint Cloud Civic Center
Contact: Don Marose at don.marose@state.mn.us


 
 

Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) "Day Three" - 9 POST credits

This course will instruct officers on the difference between alcohol and drug impaired drivers; how they are detected and what can be expected. Officers will learn the observable signs of seven major drug categories, medical conditions that mimic drug influence, and what they will see when they encounter drivers under the influence of specific drugs. This course is a prerequisite for those attending DRE School.
This course is taught in conjunction with SFST training.  If SFST is not taught immediately preceding this course, ARIDE "Stand Alone" should be the course instructed (see below). 

Class Schedule

October 2
0730-1730
Location: Mahnomen County Sheriff's Office
Contact: Sheriff Josh Guenther at josh.guenther@co.mahnomen.mn.us

October 17
0730-1730
Location: Hibbing Police Department
Contact: Chief Steve Estey at 219-929-0776 or sestey@ci.hibbing.mn.us

November 6
0800-1800
Location: Saint Cloud PD
Contact: Dawn Shattuck  dawn.shattuck@ci.stcloud.mn.us

November 27
0800-1800
Location: Moorhead PD
Contact: Officer Nick Schultz  nicholas.schultz@moorheadpolice.com
 


ARIDE On-line - 6 POST credits

This course will instruct officers on the difference between alcohol and drug impaired drivers; how they are detected and what can be expected. Officers will learn the observable signs of seven major drug categories, medical conditions that mimic drug influence, and what they will see when they encounter drivers under the influence of specific drugs.  This course may be used as ARIDE refresher.
Read the course access instructions and frequently asked questions.
 


 

Advanced Roadside Impaired Driving Enforcement (ARIDE) "Stand Alone" 14 POST credits

This course will instruct officers on the difference between alcohol and drug impaired drivers; how they are detected and what can be expected. Officers will review the SFSTs, and will learn the observable signs of seven major drug categories, medical conditions that mimic drug influence, and what they will see when they encounter drivers under the influence of specific drugs. This course is a prerequisite for those attending DRE School.

Class Schedule



 

Occupant Protection Usage & Enforcement (OPUE) - 3 POST credits

This three-hour course will address seat belt, child restraint and air bag history and development. Officers will learn the engineering designs that make these safety devices an important part of motor vehicles. Officers will be guided through the specifics about these safety devices and how they are protected both when they are occupants as well as when they respond to crashes. Officers will discuss enforcement techniques and requirements.

NEW OPUE TRAINING PROGRAM COMING SOON





Law Enforcement Phlebotomist - 32 POST credits

Phlebotomy is the act of drawing blood for either testing or transfusion.  The purpose of this training is to prepare POST licensed law enforcement  professionals to successfully obtain blood samples from DWI arrestees pursuant to Minnesota statutes.  the training consists of three sections; an 8-hour online course, a 24-hour classroom section, and a clinical section that includes 50 successful blood draws at an ambulatory care site.  all equipment, supplies, and housing costs are paid.
Next class January 2020

 


Basic Lidar Operator - 4 POST credits

This 4 hour class is broken down into two phases designed for the officer to learn basic LIDAR operation. The first phase is a 3-hour block of instruction given in a classroom environment. This gives the officer basic operator information. Phase two is conducted in the field with hands on operation of the LIDAR unit and includes operation and testing procedures.

Class Schedule

October 29, 2019
1300-1700
MSP Commercial Vehicle Section - Mendota Heights
For course registration please contact Eric Zastrow at eric.zastrow@state.mn.us 


 
 

Basic Radar Operator - 4 POST credits

This class is 4 hours consisting of classroom instruction designed for the current operator to refresh their skills in basic radar operation. 

Class Schedule 

October 29, 2019
0800-1200
MSP Commercial Vehicle Section - Mendota Heights
For course registration please contact Eric Zastrow at eric.zastrow@state.mn.us 

 

 

Commercial Motor Vehicle Training - 4 POST credits

The four-hour course offered by the Commercial Vehicle Section of the State Patrol deals with making “probable-cause (PC)” traffic stops of large commercial motor vehicles. 
Minnesota’s regulatory scheme regarding CMVs can be a complicated minefield for an officer. This course provides easy-to-follow tips for wading through regulations. Course also makes it easy for officers to interact intelligently with CMVs and their drivers. It can be delivered anywhere and requires very little technical setup.
Contact: 
Sergeant Kathy Marose
Minnesota State Patrol Commercial Vehicle Section
(651) 350-2013
 
 

Child Passenger Safety Training

Child passenger safety training is provided by OTS. Classes will be scheduled around the state, most frequently in the spring and early summer.
​​