Drugged driving is just like alcohol impaired driving. It doesn’t matter if the impairing substance is obtained legally, impaired driving is always illegal. If you feel different, you drive different.
When you choose to drive impaired, there are many significant consequences that are a result. Deciding to drive while impaired puts yourself, as well as others, at risk.
In the state of Minnesota, it is against the law for a person who is under the influence of alcohol, controlled, or hazardous substances to operate a motor vehicle. The severity of your offense increases depending on your level of impairment, past convictions for DWI and other aggrevating factors.
Penalties for drugged driving are treated the same for alcohol impaired driving.
If convicted of drugged driving, the penalty for your first offense is up to 90 days in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.
If you have been convicted before, the penalties increase to 1-7 years in jail and/or fines of $3,000-$14,000.
Refusal to submit to a chemical test may also result in a fine and jail time.
Along with possible fines and jail time, a driver's license will be revoked from 3 months - 6 years. You may also lose your license plates and your car.
Minnesota law enforcement officers are on the roads and are trained to identify drivers who are under the influence of alcohol and drugs. If you choose to operate a motor vehicle while impaired from alcohol or drugs, you will face the consequences for doing so.
Consult your doctor/physician or pharmacist with questions about medication.