Relaxed laws for farm vehicles effective August 1
In response to the federal transportation bill known as MAP-21, several Minnesota Statutes relating to the operation of covered farm vehicles go into effect August 1.
Covered farm vehicle (CFV) means a single unit or articulated commercial motor vehicle that:
Displays a farm license plate or other designation* issued by a state,
Is operated by a farmer, or a family member or employee of the farmer,
Transports agricultural commodities, livestock, machinery or supplies to or from a farm,
Is not used in for-hire carrier operations,
Does not transport hazardous materials in a quantity requiring the vehicle to display placards;
When the gross vehicle weight (GVW) is 26,001 pounds or less, is operated anywhere in the United States;
When the GVW is greater than 26,001 pounds, is operated wholly within its state of registry; or when crossing state lines, is operated within 150 miles of the farm
Covered farm vehicles and their drivers are exempt from requirements for:
Commercial driver license (CDL)
Medical qualifications (medical cards)
Hours of service and log books
Annual inspection and daily vehicle inspection requirements
In addition, covered farm vehicles are only subject to inspection by enforcement personnel if probable cause exists to believe the vehicle or its equipment is unsafe or illegal activity is suspected. Covered farm vehicles are still subject to being stopped, but will be allowed to proceed if there is no probable cause to conduct a complete vehicle inspection.
*Vehicles displaying Minnesota apportioned, truck class, or passenger class license plates, and meeting all other qualifications for a CFV, may complete, print, and carry a CFV self-designation form. The form must be carried in the vehicle and displayed upon demand by enforcement personnel.
For more information, call 651-405-6196, or write to email@example.com.
Pilot/Escort Certification - Reciprocity Update
(Dec. 2, 2013) Lieutenant Tom Nelson with the Minnesota State Patrol has just announced that Pilot/Escort Vehicle Operation Certification training curriculum reciprocity now exists with Florida, along with Colorado, North Carolina, Utah and Washington.
This means: Minnesota domiciled and out of state pilot/escort drivers holding Colorado, Florida, and Utah certification that is still current on or after January 2, 2014, will not be required to obtain Minnesota certification to operate in Minnesota (with conditions—see below). Once it expires, however, pilot/escort drivers domiciled in Minnesota will be required to obtain Minnesota certification. This will require attending the initial 8-hour training class and passing the examination.
Conditions: Colorado, Florida, Utah and Washington certification holders will be allowed to escort overdimensional loads in Minnesota provided that the Minnesota insurance, driver, vehicle, and safety equipment requirements are met. And Minnesota certification holders will be allowed to escort overdimensional loads in Colorado, Florida, North Carolina, Utah and Washington, provided that insurance, driver, vehicle, and safety equipment requirements are met for those states.
For further information please contact Erik Gohl at 952.995.1346 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
See our Training and Outreach page for more information about Pilot/Escort Vehicle Driver Training.
Policies Related to CMV Enforcement