School Bus Safety
Every school bus in Minnesota is required by statute to be inspected annually by the Minnesota State Patrol. These mandated inspections are carried out by seven inspection teams who are deployed regionally.
Additionally, state troopers are assigned to enforce traffic regulations for school bus drivers and other motorists operating in proximity to school buses. Troopers conduct random school bus driver qualification checks, post-crash inspection and follow up reviews, and school bus-related public outreach programs.
Wheelchair Securement Inspections
Vehicles used to transport persons in wheelchairs or other mobility aids, such as vehicles used for public transit, residential care facilities, or taxi services, are required to be properly equipped with ramps or lifts, as well as proper wheelchair tiedown and passenger restraint systems. These items must meet the requirements of federal motor vehicle safety standards, the Americans with Disabilities Act, and applicable manufacturer recommendations. Vehicles so equipped are required to be inspected annually by State Patrol personnel and cannot be used to transport persons in wheelchairs unless each vehicle is inspected and displays a current inspection certificate/sticker. Contact the inspection team for your region, as listed below, to schedule an inspection of your vehicle(s).
Inspection teams in the Twin Cities metropolitan regions set aside the month of June each year for wheelchair vehicle inspections. Click here
for dates, locations, and other important information you need to know before your inspection. If you need a vehicle inspected at any other time, contact the applicable Metro inspection team to schedule an appointment.
Stop for School Buses: It's the Law!
State law requires all vehicles to stop for school buses when the bus driver activates the flashing lights and has the crossing arm fully extended.
Drivers who violate the law face a $500 fine.
Drivers can face criminal charges for passing a school bus on the right, passing when a child is outside the bus, or injuring or killing a child.
Motorists must stop at least 20 feet from a school bus that is displaying red flashing lights or a stop arm when approaching from the rear and from the opposite direction on undivided roads.
Motorists should slow down, pay attention and anticipate school children and buses, especially in neighborhoods and school zones.
The best way to be aware of your surroundings at all times is to put the distractions away.
When getting off a bus, look to be sure no cars are passing on the shoulder.
Wait for the bus driver to signal that it’s safe to cross.
When crossing the street to get on the bus or to go home, make eye contact with motorists before proceeding.
Citations by Year
Annual Stop-Arm Survey
Each year, bus drivers across the state participate in a one-day stop-arm Survey
Be Ready to Ride
Drivers and students share the responsibility of making the trip to and from school safely. Please watch and share this brief video describing how you can Be Ready to Ride
School Bus Contacts
Lieutenant Brian Reu
Pupil Transportation Safety Director
Phone: (651) 350-2007
CVI Sgt. Jay K. Sletten
Phone: (651) 350-2008
Sergeant Kelly R. Johnson
Northern Regional Trooper
Phone: (612) 360-5172
Sergeant Mike Krukowski
Metro / Central Regional Trooper
Sergeant Chad Dauffenbach
Southern Regional Trooper
Phone: (507) 430-0791
Regional School Bus Inspectors
This map identifies school bus inspector regions.
School Bus Resources
Model School Bus Driver Manual
Each section of the Model Driver Manual may be downloaded independently. A complete manual is not available for download at this time.
Unit III Crash and Emergency Preparedness
Unit IV Vehicle Care, Inspection & Use
Unit V Laws, Regulations & Recommendations
Unit V Student Stop Lane Usage Examples
Unit V Inspection Decals Examples
Unit VI Special Needs Transportation
School Bus Driver Certification (CDL)
Driver Certification - Appendix D
8 Hour Training Option - Appendix F
Student Survey Cycle One - Quiz
Student Survey Cycle One - Answers
Student Survey Cycle Two - Quiz
Student Survey Cycle Two - Answers
Student Survey Cycle Three - Quiz
Student Survey Cycle Three - Answers
School Bus Pretrip Inspection Forms
Type III School Bus Information
Type III School Bus Driver Evaluation – Appendix A1
Type III School Bus Pretrip Inspection Forms
Trailer Pretrip Inspection Form
Minnesota School Bus Inspection Manual
National School Transportation Standards and Procedures
The National Congress on Student Transportation updates the national standards every five years. Due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Congress scheduled for May 2020 has been postponed to May 2021, or later. The standards are adopted through Minnesota Statute 169.4501.
Listed below are links to the standards, each marked with their effective date. The standards apply to all new school buses or used buses placed into service for the first time in Minnesota, on or after the effective date of the standards.
1990 - Effective January 1, 19951995 - Effective January 1, 19982000 - Effective November 1, 20042005 - Effective January 1, 20082010 - Effective January 1, 20132015 - Effective January 1, 2017
School Bus Inspection Results
In Minnesota, there are five types of authorized school buses (Type A, Type B, Type C, Type D and Type III) used to transport children to and from school and school-related activities. View examples of school bus types.
Minnesota’s school bus inspection program is based on a point value system devised to evaluate the condition of each bus inspected. Each school bus begins with 100 total points. As defects are discovered during the inspection process, points are deducted in accordance with values assigned in Minnesota Rule 7470.0700 “Table of points to be deducted”.
School buses with an inspection score of 96 to 100 pass the inspection and an annual inspection decal is affixed to the windshield signifying its roadworthiness.
A school bus with an inspection score of 80 to 95 points receives a 14-day temporary inspection certificate. The school bus must be re-inspected within the 14-day period or it is prohibited from transporting school children until the deficiencies have been corrected. Upon successful completion of the re-inspection, an annual inspection decal will be issued by the State Patrol signifying its roadworthiness.
A school bus with less than 80 points is deemed unsafe for the transportation of school children. This school bus is immediately prohibited from transporting school children until the defects are corrected. A temporary inspection certificate is issued and affixed to the bus. Pending re-inspection by the State Patrol, a school bus bearing a rejection sticker may be used to transport pupils only if all defects have been corrected and the inspection form has been signed by the owner or designee certifying the corrections. The signed certification form must be carried in the first aid kit on the bus for immediate verification of repairs by enforcement personnel.
School bus inspection results are listed by year and by school district. If unable to find the results for a specific school district for the current year it is because the annual inspections have not yet been completed. The inspection results are updated monthly.
For questions regarding inspection results for a particular school district, contact the school’s transportation director or the superintendent of schools. A listing of district superintendents and their contact information is available through the Minnesota Department of Education.