One of the most important duties of the Commercial Vehicle Section is educating transportation professionals, other law enforcement officers, and the motoring public about the safe operation of commercial motor vehicles. In addition to ensuring up-to-date training for the State Patrol, commercial vehicle training staff facilitate classes and presentations covering a variety of topics from very general commercial vehicle information to specific topics like hazardous materials, inspection procedure, load securement, CSA, and other topics unique to commercial vehicle safety.
How do I schedule a presentation?
To request a presentation, please fill out a Request for Presentation Form and email it to firstname.lastname@example.org or fax it to 651-405-6199.
Where can I get answers to my CMV questions?
For answers to your commercial motor vehicle questions, you may call our information line at 651-405-6196, select Option 3-3, or submit your question through email to email@example.com. Our information line is staffed 8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. weekdays.
Size & Weight Enforcement
The State Patrol Commercial Vehicle Section periodically hosts 8-hour Basic Size and Weight classes for law enforcement and public works personnel who conduct or assist with motor vehicle weight enforcement duties. The course is designed to help enforcement personnel understand the size and weight limitations prescribed in Minnesota Statutes 169.80-169.88. It is a good course for the beginner, as well as a good refresher for veteran weight enforcement officers.
Minnesota Statute 169.85, Subd. 6
, requires peace officers or other personnel working under the direction of a peace officer to be trained by the Department of Public Safety before conducting weight enforcement activities. This training satisfies the requirement of the statute.
One class is currently scheduled for February 21, 2017. To register, or if your agency would like to host a truck size and weight enforcement class, please contact CVI Sgt. Jay Sletten at 651-405-6198 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Pilot/Escort Vehicle Driver Training
In 2012, the State of Minnesota passed new laws mandating operators of vehicles escorting over-dimensional loads to be certified by the Minnesota Department of Public Safety. All operators are required to carry this certification effective January 1, 2014.
Pilot/Escort Vehicle Operation Certification training curriculum reciprocity now exists with Florida, Colorado, North Carolina, Oklahoma, Utah and Washington. This means: Minnesota domiciled and out of state pilot/escort drivers holding Colorado, Florida, and Utah certification that is still current on or after January 2, 2014, will not be required to obtain Minnesota certification to operate in Minnesota (with conditions—see below). Once it expires, however, pilot/escort drivers domiciled in Minnesota will be required to obtain Minnesota certification. This will require attending the initial 8-hour training class and passing the examination.
Conditions: Colorado, Florida, Utah and Washington certification holders will be allowed to escort overdimensional loads in Minnesota provided the Minnesota insurance, driver, vehicle, and safety equipment requirements are met; and Minnesota certification holders will be allowed to escort overdimensional loads in Colorado, Florida, North Carolina, Utah and Washington, provided that insurance, driver, vehicle, and safety equipment requirements are met for those states.
Classes are available in both open enrollment and contract options. The cost of certification is $180 per person. For more information, contact Customized Training Services at Hennepin Technical College, 952-995-1330, or www.hennepintech.edu/cts
Mandatory Inspection Program (MIP)
To sign up for an annual inspection certification or re-certification course, please visit our Mandatory Inspection Program Webpage.
Forms and Publications
General Rules Governing Operation of Farm Implements (temporarily removed)