Consumer Fireworks Information
The sale, possession and use of certain non-explosive and non-aerial consumer fireworks is permitted in Minnesota.
Examples of legal fireworks:
- Cones and tubes that emit sparks
- Novelty items like snakes, and party poppers.
A more detailed list is available here.
Consumer fireworks may not be used on public property (i.e. parks, roads, alleys, schools, government property, etc.). Purchasers of consumer fireworks must be at least 18 years old and retailers are required to check photo identification of purchasers before selling these products.
Anything that flies or explodes is illegal in Minnesota. Explosive and aerial fireworks are prohibited for public sale, possession and use.
Examples of illegal fireworks:
- Bottle rockets
- Roman candles
- Mortars and shells
A more detailed list is available here.
Consumer fireworks fact sheets and information
Learn more about sky lanterns and celebration lanterns in this memo.
This is the latest information about consumer fireworks enforcement.
Learn more about fireworks in this fact sheet.
Where can consumer fireworks be sold? This information sheet explains Minnesota laws about the retail sales of consumer fireworks.
Fireworks Injury Report (.pdf)
Fireworks Safety Information
Fireworks Safety Information - Española
Fireworks Safety Guidelines
National Fire Protection Association Fireworks Report - 2010
Fireworks Operator (Public Display) Certification
Fireworks display operators are required to be certified by the State of Minnesota, effective January 1, 1996. All fireworks displays must have a supervising operator conducting the display. The operator may have assistants; however, they must be at least 18 years of age. Operators must be at least 21 years of age.
To be certified, a person must pass the State of Minnesota Fireworks Operators Examination. In addition, applicants must provide evidence of experience, which must include active participation as an assistant or operator in the performance of at least five fireworks displays, with at least one occurring in the current or preceding year. Applicants must pay a $100 certification fee. Certification is valid for a period of four years from the date of issuance.
The State Fire Marshal has published guidelines on fireworks display safety. Operators are required to comply with these guidelines. Also, the operator must submit a report to the State Fire Marshal regarding fireworks displays that are conducted.
The guidelines, applications, and report forms may be viewed and printed from this site, or are available at the Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division, 445 Minnesota Street, Suite 145, Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101-5145.
Fireworks Operator Certification Exam Information
Examination Dates which are conducted in the office of the State Fire Marshal located at 445 Minnesota Street, Suite 145, St Paul, MN 55101
|January 8 2016
||January 20 2016|
|March 4 2016
||March 16 2016|
|May 6 2016
||May 18 2016|
|June 3 2016
||June 15 2016|
|July 8 2016
||July 20 2016|
|September 9 2016
||September 21 2016|
|November 4 2016
||November 16 2016|
Application for Examination
The above form may be completed on-line and submitted by email, or printed for fax or mail submission.
Mailed forms should be sent to the address below, make sure it is received by the Registration Deadline.
Fireworks Operator Certification Program
Minnesota State Fire Marshal Division
445 Minnesota Street, Suite 145
St Paul, MN 55101-5145
Examination Materials (Exam is based on the following materials)
MN Statutes 624.20-25
MN State Fire Code - Chapter 33
(This document contains only the amendments to the International Fire Code 2006 Edition. The IFC is a copyright protected document and cannot be placed on this website. Contact your local fire department, building official or visit the Legislative Reference Library for a copy of the complete code.)
(National Fire Protection Association Standards are copyright protected and cannot be place on this website. Contact NFPA at (800) 593-6372, or order online at www.nfpa.org
National Fire Protection Association Standard - 1123 (2006 Edition) for Outdoor Certification
National Fire Protection Association Standard - 1126 (2006 Edition) for Indoor Certification
Public Display Fireworks Operator Guidelines
Fireworks Operator Certification Guidelines, Display Reports, and Operator Certification Applications forms
MS 270.72 requires that applicants complete this form and return it with their Fireworks Operator Certification Application.
Revised Fireworks Operator Display Report
Outdoor Public Fireworks Display Permit Application - Sample Application for Permit
Sample Application / Permit for Public Outdoor Fireworks Display
Fireworks Operator Certification Renewal Requirements
The Minnesota State Fire Marshal's office will mail out the renewal forms at least 3-4 weeks prior to your expiration date.
Applicants for certification renewal as a fireworks display operator must meet the following requirements before certification may be renewed by the State Fire Marshal:
Application form: The applicant must apply for renewal of certification in writing by completing and signing application forms that are sent out by the State Fire Marshals Office in advance of the expiration date of the Certification. A $100 renewal fee must accompany the application.
Evidence of experience.: The applicant must submit evidence of experience that must include, as a minimum, the dates, locations, and authorities issuing the permits for at least three (3) safely conducted fireworks displays within the last four (4) years. This information shall be provided to the State Fire Marshal within 30 days of each display and within 10 days if an injury occurred or a device malfunctioned. This information shall be provided on a display report form provided by the State Fire Marshal. A copy of the form is attached.
For applicants requesting certification renewal that have acted only as assistants, evidence of experience will be verified by cross-referencing display reports filed by the fireworks operator of record for each display the applicant has claimed on their renewal form to have been an assistant. These applicants must provide the name and/or certification number of the operator of record for each display that the applicant was listed as an assistant.
- For each and every fireworks display there must be a display report filed with the State Fire Marshal by the operator to whom the permit was issued.
- For each and every fireworks display report filed with the State Fire Marshal the name and certification number of each assistant must be provided.
- Failure by the fireworks operator to list the name and certification number of each assistant for each fireworks display may prevent the State Fire Marshal from issuing a certification renewal to an applicant.
Questions regarding fireworks certification renewal may be directed to Robert Rexeisen or (612) 386-4657
Indoor Fireworks Display Permits
Minnesota Statutes 624.22, Subd
1 (2) (d) requires the operator of a facility to make application for an indoor fireworks display permit to the State Fire Marshal at least 15 days in in advance of the date of any performance, show or event which will include the discharge of fireworks inside a building or structure. It also permits the State Fire Marshal to delegate that authority to local fire chiefs.
Once an application for a permit has been approved, State Fire Marshal Division personnel will conduct an inspection of the facility to determine its suitability for the conduct of an indoor pyrotechnics display. Inspection Guidelines are contained in the file listed below.
Once an application for a permit has been approved, State Fire Marshal Division personnel will conduct an inspection of the facility to determine its suitability for the conduct of an indoor pyrotechnics display. Inspection Guidelines are contained in the file listed above.
The American Pyrotechnics Association has developed an Proximate Pyrotechnics Checklist for use by pyro technicians when planning for and conducting a proximate audience display. While the State Fire Marshal Division has not adopted this checklist for required usage, it is provided as guidance for operators and local authorities.