Interoperability Committee

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The purpose of the Interoperability Committee (IOC) is to advise the Statewide Emergency Communications Board on matters that pertain to interoperability of disparate public safety communication technologies.  The Committee has representation from all regions of the state, thus assuring that all issues that are brought forward are discussed and vetted through a process that assures that all interests are represented.  The committee also reviews any proposed changes to the operational standards and forwards them to other committees as appropriate..

To learn more about Interoperability, visit the Interoperability page.

Committee Membership

The Bylaws of the Statewide Emergency Communications Board prescribes the membership of its Interoperability Committee as follows:

Membership is comprised of one primary and one alternate from each of the following: Minnesota Department of Transportation, Minnesota Department of Natural Resources, Minnesota State Patrol, two Minnesota sheriffs appointed by the Minnesota Sheriffs’ Association—one from the metropolitan area and one from greater Minnesota, two chiefs of police appointed by the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association—one from the metropolitan area and one from greater Minnesota, two fire chiefs appointed by the Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association--one from the metropolitan area and one from greater Minnesota, two members of Minnesota Ambulance Association—one member from the metropolitan area and one from greater Minnesota, Minnesota Indian Affairs Council or Tribal Government, Department of Corrections, Minnesota Homeland Security and Emergency Management, Emergency Management District VI (metropolitan area), one seat from District I, II, III, IV or V (greater Minnesota), Bureau of Criminal Apprehension, Minnesota National Guard, the  United States Federal Government, and Twin Cities Urban Area Security Initiative, and a representative from each regional emergency communications or emergency services board.

Article VI of the Bylaws of the Statewide Emergency Communications Board further state that, “Additional representatives may be added to any committee upon recommendation of the chair and majority voting approval by the Statewide Emergency Communications Board.”  The following seats have been added to the Interoperability Committee:

  • Emergency Medical Services Regulatory Board (approved by SECB on July 27, 2017)
  • Department of Health (approved by SECB on July 27, 2017)

    View the Current Mem​​bership Roster​ ​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


The Interoperability Committee typically meets on the third Tuesday of odd numbered months. Telephone conference and Internet connections as well as location for meetings​ will be provided at the top of the meeting’s agenda.  The actual meeting date and time can be found on the SECB calendar and on the meeting’s agenda. 

Agendas and supporting materials for future meetings may be found on the Meeting Materials page.

To request that an item be heard or considered by the Interoperability Committee, the item should be submitted to the Committee Chair at the below address. Meeting materials must be submitted no later than nine business days prior to the meeting.

Statewide Emergency Communications Board
Interoperability Committee Chair
c/o Emergency Communication Networks
445 Minnesota Street, suite #137
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101


Agendas, supporting materials, and approved minutes for past meetings may also be found on the Meeting Materials page.​


The Interoperability Committee hosts three workgroups, each focusing on a specific responsibility for the Interoperability Committee. 

  • Communications Unit
  • Strategic Technology Reserve
  • EMS & Hospitals

Contact Statewide Interoperability Coordinator if you are interested in serving on one of these workgroups.