Legislative Committee

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The purpose of the Legislative Committee is to advise the Statewide Emergency Communications Board on all matters related to legislation and government affairs that have the potential to impact the board, its members and users of the public safety communications systems across Minnesota.

Committee Membership


  • Search a bill by number; author; topic; committee or action; bill summaries;  vetoes; companion bills; fiscal notes.
  • Set up personalized bill tracking.

House Public Safety Committee Chair Carlos Mariani​

Senate Judiciary and Public Safety Finance and Policy Committee Chair Warren Lim​mer

Association of Minnesota Counties (AMC) Legislative Policy Positions

League of MN Cities Legislative Updates

Minnesota Inter-County Association (MICAH)

The Bylaws of the Statewide Emergency Communications Board prescribes the membership of its Legislative Committee as follows:

Membership is comprised of one primary and alternate from each of the following:
Minnesota Department of Transportation, Minnesota Sheriffs’ Association, Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association, Minnesota State Fire Chiefs Association, League of Minnesota Cities, Association of Minnesota Counties, Minnesota Ambulance Association, Minnesota Indian Affairs Council or Tribal Government, and each regional emergency communications or emergency services board.

View the Current Membership ​Roster​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​


The Legislative Committee typically meets on the first Thursday of each month at 10:00 a.m. by conference call.  Telephone conference call information and, when applicable, Internet connections for meetings will be provided at the top of the meeting’s agenda. The actual meeting date, time, and location can be found on the SECB calendar and on the meeting’s agenda.

Agendas and supporting materials for future meetings may be found on the
Meeting Materials page.

To request that an item be heard or considered by the Legislative Committee, the item should be submitted to the Committee Chair at the below address. Meeting materials must be submitted no later than nine business days prior to the meeting.

Statewide Emergency Communications Board
Legislative Committee Chair
c/o Emergency Communication Networks
445 Minnesota Street, suite #137
Saint Paul, Minnesota 55101

Email: ECN@state.mn.us

Agendas, supporting materials, and approved minutes for past meetings may also be found on the Meeting Materials page.