If you are interested in taking an online class D knowledge test at home, visit the online knowledge testing page for information.
As a result of legislation signed into law by Gov. Tim Walz, the Minnesota Department of Public Safety Driver and Vehicle Services division (DPS-DVS) developed an online class D knowledge testing system. This system allows driver education programs and other authorized businesses to proctor the class D knowledge tests for Minnesotans. DPS-DVS is working with driving schools, school districts, deputy registrar offices and driver's license agent offices that are interested in this opportunity.
Third-Party Online Knowledge Testing Proctor Requirements
Businesses interested in becoming third party online knowledge testing proctors must meet these requirements:
- Provide all computers and equipment for people to take the online knowledge test.
- There is no minimum requirement for the number of testing stations.
- Driver Education programs need to be valid and in good standing with Minnesota Driver Education.
- Entities must have proctors that are 21 years or older and have a valid Minnesota driver's license.
- Proctors must agree they will not provide assistance while proctoring the tests.
- Businesses may charge up to $10 to administer each class D knowledge test.
- Businesses can administer the test during online knowledge testing hours Monday-Saturday, 6 a.m. - 11 p.m.
Become a Third-Party Online Knowledge Testing Proctor
To become a third party online knowledge testing proctor, you must:
- Complete and return the proctor application.
- Complete and return the memorandum of understanding.
- Once approved, DPS-DVS will send you a letter with information to set up your system account in order to access what you need to proctor the knowledge test for Minnesotans.
- When you complete the registration, you will receive an email with knowledge testing site information.
Third-Party Online Knowledge Testing Proctor Resources