Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Aggressive / Speeding

​Let’s Stomp Out Lead Foots

Each year, illegal or unsafe speed is a leading contributing factor in Minnesota’s fatal crashes — accounting for at least 130 deaths annually, of which 70 percent occur on rural, two-lane roads in Minnesota. Young adult motorists are the most common offenders and those at greatest risk.

 

The Dangers of Illegal and Unsafe Speeding

Speeding is not an innocent crime — it puts every motorist at risk on the road:
  • Greater potential for loss of vehicle control.

  • Increased stopping distance.

  • Less time available for driver response for crash avoidance.

  • Increased crash severity — the faster the speed , the more violent the crash.

Heavy Foot = Light Wallet

Statewide speed patrols will be conducted in July 2012, accompanying ongoing speed patrols on select roads through Sept. 2012.
 
Costs of speeding violations vary by county, but typically are at least $120 for traveling 10 mph over the limit.
 
Motorists stopped at 20 mph over the speed limit face double the fine, and those ticketed traveling more than 100 mph can lose their license for six months.
 

When Drivers See Red — Dealing with Aggressive Drivers

Learn the characteristics of an aggressive driver and what to do if confronted by one.

You are an aggressive driver if you:

  • Ignore traffic signals

  • Speed and tailgate

  • Weave in and out of traffic

  • Make improper lane changes frequently and abruptly

  • Pass on the shoulder

  • Make hand and facial gestures

  • Scream, honk and flash lights.

If confronted by an aggressive driver, you should:

  • Get out of their way.

  • Stay calm — reaching your destination safely is your goal.

  • Do not challenge them.

  • Avoid eye contact.

  • Ignore gestures and don’t return them.

  • Report aggressive driving (vehicle description, license number, location).

  • Always buckle up to maintain proper seating position in case of abrupt driving maneuvers.

Report Aggressive Drivers:

  • Find a safe place to call 911

  • Be prepared to provide location, vehicle description and license plate.

Tailgating

Motorists should keep at least a three-second following distance, as it takes more than the length of a football field to stop when traveling at 60 miles per hour.