Elementary Schools — Promote Booster Seat Safety
Elementary teachers are encouraged to educate parents and caregivers about the importance of booster seats for students in grades K-2 by using these resources:
Keeping Kids Safe in Vehicles
In Minnesota, three out of four child seats are used incorrectly, and many parents aren’t aware of the restraint steps a child should progress through as they age and grow. A vehicle is the most dangerous place for children— and crashes are the leading killer of children under age 14.
Is Your Child in the Right Restraint?
Find Car Seat Checks and
Watch Instructional Car Seat Videos
Common Child Passenger Safety Mistakes
Turning a child from a rear-facing restraint to a forward-facing restraint too soon. American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) now recommends keeping children rear-facing until 2 years old if possible.
Restraint is not secured tight enough — it should not shift more than one inch side-to-side or out from the seat.
Harness on the child is not tight enough — if you can pinch harness material, it’s too loose.
Retainer clip is up too high or too low — should be at the child’s armpit level.
The child is in the wrong restraint — don’t rush your child into a seat belt.
Give Kids a Boost!
Booster Seats Are the Law in Minnesota
Booster seats lift a child up to help adult seat belts fit children properly. Children must start riding in a booster upon outgrowing a forward-facing harness restraint (typically after turning age 4 and 40–60 pounds). It is safest for children to remain in a booster until they are 4 feet 9 inches tall, or at least age 8.
Learn more about Minnesota's child passenger safety law, which requires a child who is both under age 8 and shorter than 4 feet 9 inches to be fastened in a child safety seat or booster.
Stay Safe Behind the Wheel During Pregnancy
Use this seat belt use guide to be safe during your pregnancy.