Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

Motorcycle License

Motorcycle License Endorsement

You must be properly licensed to legally operate a motorcycle on Minnesota roads. Penalties for riding without a valid driver's license and motorcycle license endorsement or instruction permit include up to 90 days in jail, a $1,000 fine and having the motorcycle towed and impounded.

How Do I Earn a Motorcycle License Endorsement in Minnesota?

If You Are 18 or Older

There are two ways to earn your motorcycle endorsement:

  1. Use the Skills Test Waiver/Third Party Testing option. If you are age 18 or older and have a valid Minnesota driver's license and motorcycle instruction permit, the riding skills test for your motorcycle endorsement will be waived if you successfully complete the Minnesota Motorcycle Safety Center (MMSC) Basic Rider Course (BRC). You must:
    • Pass the state knowledge test for the motorcycle instruction permit (fee $21). To study for the motorcycle permit test, read the Minnesota Motorcycle and Motorized Bicycle Manual.
    • Have your instruction permit before taking the BRC skills test. Expired permits are accepted if they have been expired for less than one year.
    • Successfully complete the BRC. This requires 100 percent attendance and you must pass the BRC skills test.
    • Pay the duplicate license fee at an exam station to receive your endorsement.

      Note: Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) reserves the right to retest any student, even if he or she passed the BRC. Riders who have failed a state and/or MMSC skills test twice are not eligible for the State Skills Test Waiver, and all third and subsequent skills tests must be taken at a DVS exam station.
  2. Go to a DVS exam station. You must:
    • Have a valid Minnesota driver's license.
    • Pass the state knowledge test for the motorcycle instruction permit. The fee is $21. To study for the motorcycle permit test, read the Minnesota Motorcycle and Motorized Bicycle Manual.
    • Pass the riding state skills test for the motorcycle endorsement. Some exam stations are open late for motorcycle skills tests –– see "Evening Hours" below. You can schedule a skills test at a state exam station online.
    • Pay the duplicate license fee and receive your endorsement.

If You Are Under 18

You are required to take the Minnesota Motorcycle Safety Center (MMSC) Basic Rider Course (BRC). You must:
  • Have a valid Minnesota driver's license or an instruction permit. It is necessary to have a license or permit to enroll in the BRC.
  • Successfully complete the BRC. This requires 100 percent attendance and completion of the BRC knowledge and skill tests. Upon completion, you will receive two certificates to take to a DVS exam station along with your Minnesota driver's license. One certificate will allow you to take the state knowledge test for your motorcycle instruction permit. The other certificate will allow you to take the state skill (riding) test for your motorcycle endorsement. The certificates are valid until you turn 18.
  • Have a Minnesota driver's license—you cannot earn a motorcycle permit or endorsement with a driver's instruction permit.
  • Pass the state knowledge test for your motorcycle instruction permit. You must present the BRC completion certificate. The fee is $21. To study for the motorcycle permit test, read the Minnesota Motorcycle and Motorized Bicycle Manual.
  • Pass the state skill test for the motorcycle endorsement. You must present the BRC completion certificate.
  • Pay the duplicate license duplicate license fee and receive your endorsement.
 

Special Evening Hours for State Riding Skills Test

MMSC sponsors a convenient evening testing program for motorcyclists. Several DVS exam stations are open from 5 p.m. to 7 p.m. one night per week for motorcycle endorsement skill testing.