The Issue of Aging and Driving
Everyone ages differently, however, the older we are, the risks behind the wheel increase — with the possibility of declining cognitive, vision and physical abilities. Older drivers in general are safe — drivers age 65 and older made up 18.3 percent of all licensed drivers in 2015, but were involved in only 9 percent of all crashes.
Older drivers are more likely to get killed or injured because they are more likely to be physically fragile and less able to recover from injuries. In fact, one out of every four traffic fatalities in Minnesota is a person age 65 or older.
Older Driver Task Force Grant Program
The Office of Traffic Safety (OTS), seeks to award a grant to a 401C3 qualified non-profit or governmental entity to implement traffic safety activities with the objective of reducing crashes, injuries and deaths involving older drivers. Applicant organizations should have knowledge and experience with older driver traffic safety issues and effective outreach strategies. Applicants must read the 2019 Older Driver Task Force Grant Request for Proposal (RFP). All 2019 Older Driver Task Force grant applications must be submitted through the Department of Public Safety’s E-Grants System by 4:30 p.m., Friday, Sept. 7, 2018.
Aging Driver Publication Inserted in Twin Cities Business Magazine
The July 2015 issue of Twin Cities Business Magazine will include an aging driver publication to raise awareness and provide resources for aging drivers and their families. Entitled “A Roadmap for Driving Later in Life”, this publication provides an overview of the challenges and opportunities associated with the increase in aging drivers across Minnesota. Limited copies of the insert can be ordered through Educational Materials.
Addressing Driving Problems with Older Family Members
Most older drivers self-regulate fairly well — they voluntarily stop driving at night, in urban areas, or far from home.
This can be a sensitive issue for many older drivers; driving cessation is difficult at best. Older drivers forced to stop driving will likely feel a lack of freedom and may suffer from depression.
Actions to Take if Concerned about an Older Family Member's Driving:
1 .Write and sign a letter to Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) outlining specific concerns.
DVS will write the person and ask them to come in for an interview.
Based on the interview, the person can be requested to conduct a written and road test; submit a vision report; and/or submit a doctor’s statement verifying that they are physically qualified to drive within 30 days of the interview.
If no concerns arise during the interview — if the driver passes a road quiz and appears to be physically fine — they may not be required to do anything further to continue to drive.
If the person does not submit the requested statements or their vision/physical report is unsatisfactory, their driver’s license can be cancelled.
If the person is unable to pass the tests within the required time, their driver’s license is cancelled.
2. Law enforcement officers also can send a request for review to DVS if they identify a driver who they believe should either re-test or be checked by a doctor.
3. Talk to a family member's physician to see if the doctor has noticed the same problems. If so, ask the doctor to submit a request for a written/road test to DVS. If the physician sees the person is not physically qualified to drive, the doctor can notify the department to that effect and DVS can cancel the driver’s privileges.
4. DVS can allow the person to keep driving with increased limitations such as roadway speed, daylight only, certain times of the day or within a set limit of miles from his or her home. They can also require follow-up doctors exams.