DVS Logo

Driver and Vehicle Services

A Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety
 

How to Apply

​ 

Participation Requirements

To participate, applicants must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age
  • Own/drive a vehicle with valid insurance 
    • Must be a Class D type vehicle 
    • No commercial vehicles
  • Have no outstanding withdrawals which would prohibit the issuance of a limited or full license
  • Go to the Deputy Registrar to purchase special registration plates if license plates have been impounded
  • Must have no existing withdrawals in any other state
  • If driving privilege was revoked prior to age 18, must not be subject to Vanessa's Law
  • If driving privilege was withdrawn prior to July 1, 2011, must sign Waiver of Rights which can be obtained by contacting Driver and Vehicle Services
 

Participants who have been revoked must complete the following steps:

  1. Pay the $680 reinstatement fee.

  2. Apply for a new Class D driver’s license (links to the Driver's License Steps, select Renew or Get Duplicate License) and pay application fee.  Commercial Driving License (CDL) privileges are not allowed while participating in the Ignition Interlock Device Program.  Appropriate testing and application for CDL privileges can only be renewed upon completion of the program.

  3. Sign and date the Ignition Interlock Participation Agreement.

  4. Submit an Insurance Identification Card for the vehicle(s) to be equipped with the device.  A Certificate of Insurance will be required if your driving record shows a history of an insurance conviction.  The VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) of the vehicle with the device must match the VIN on the Insurance Identification Card or Certificate of Insurance.

  5. If required, sign and notarize the Special Review Awareness form.

  6. Select an ignition interlock provider (view a list of State of Minnesota Certified Vendors) and have the device installed. Participants may install the device at any time but must wait until they receive notification from Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) before driving the vehicle.

  7. Submit application paperwork to DVS by mail, fax, email or in-person (drop-off):
    An interview with a driver evaluator is not required.

    Submit Online:
    drive.mn.gov
    Click on "Upload Ignition Interlock Form" under Forms Submission

    Mail/drop-off:
    Driver and Vehicle Services
    Ignition Interlock Unit
    445 Minnesota Street, Suite 177
    Saint Paul, Minnesota  55101

    Fax: (651) 797-1299

    Email: dvs.ii@state.mn.us

    Participants will receive their restricted license once DVS approves the application.

Participants who have been canceled and denied must complete the following steps:

  1. Pay the $680 reinstatement fee​ (only required if revoked in addition to the cancellation and denial).

  2. Apply for a new Class D driver’s license (links to the Driver's License Steps and then select Renew or Get Duplicate License)  and pay application fee. Commercial Driving License (CDL) privileges are not allowed while participating in the Ignition Interlock Device Program.  Appropriate testing and application for CDL privileges can only be renewed upon completion of the program.

  3. Sign and date the Ignition Interlock Participation Agreement.

  4. Complete a Chemical Use Assessment and, if needed, enroll in a treatment or other program. The treatment center, the assessor or the alcohol or drug counselor must fax the assessment and/or proof of enrollment directly to DVS at (651) 797-1738. Please include a driver’s license number or date of birth on the assessment or enrollment for verification purposes.

  5. Sign and date the Last Use Statement.

  6. Submit an Insurance Identification Card for the vehicle(s) to be equipped with the device.  A Certificate of Insurance will be required if your driving record shows a history of an insurance conviction.  The VIN (Vehicle Identification Number) of the vehicle with the device must match the VIN on the Insurance Identification Card or Certificate of Insurance​.

  7. Select an ignition interlock provider (view a list of State of Minnesota Certified Vendors) and have the device installed. Participants may install the device at any time but must wait until they receive notification from Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) before driving the vehicle. 

  8. Submit application paperwork to DVS by mail, fax, email or in person (drop off:
    An interview with a driver evaluator is not required.
Submit Online:
drive.mn.gov
Click on "Upload Ignition Interlock Form" under Forms Submission

Mail/drop-off:  
Driver and Vehicle Services
Ignition Interlock Unit, Suite 177
445 Minnesota Street
Saint Paul, Minnesota  55101

E-mail: dvs.ii@state.mn.us

Fax: (651) 797-1299

Participants will receive their restricted license once DVS approves the application.