Reference: Minnesota Statutes, 168.013 - provides information in determining vehicle registration tax.
For additional assistance with determining registration tax, contact your local deputy registrar or email DVS at DVS.firstname.lastname@example.org.
Note: Effective July 1, 2012 Minnesota’s $1.75 Technology Fee, applied to many driver and vehicle services transactions for several years to help pay for Driver and Vehicle Services technology upgrades, will be reduced to $1. Thus, several driver and vehicle transactions will reflect a new fee.
Fees Due with Each Registration Renewal
- Filing Fee: $6
- Technology Surcharge (unless the renewal is done with a transfer of the vehicle ownership): $1
- Wheelage: $10
View the Wheelage Tax page for a list of counties where Wheelage tax is collected.
Passenger Class Vehicle Registration Tax
The registration tax for passenger class vehicles (cars, vans and pickups rated at less than one-ton, and one-ton passenger vans) is determined by the vehicle's base value and age. Minimum tax for vehicles 10 years old and older is $35.
Registration tax for truck, trailer, van pool, bus and farm class vehicles is determined by the gross vehicle weight and model year of the vehicle.
- Motorcycle Tax: $10
- Moped Tax: $6