Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
 
DVS Logo

Driver and Vehicle Services

A Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety
 

Wheelage Tax

What is a Wheelage Tax?

A wheelage tax is a minimum $10 tax that is levied by the county board of commissioners on vehicles kept in their county when not in operation and that are subject to annual registration and taxation under Chapter 168. (Reference: Minnesota Statutes, section 163.051). 
  
Effective January 1, 2018, the Minnesota Wheelage Tax can be increased to a maximum of $20, based on the discretion of the county and will be imposed annually on motor vehicles registered in the following counties that have approved the tax. If you have any questions related to the Wheelage tax, they can be directed to the participating counties listed below:
  1. Benton:  320-968-5054 - Stayed at $20
  2. Big Stone: 320-839-6366 - Increased to $10 (with registration period that begins January 1, 2020 & beyond)
  3. Brown:  507-233-5700 - Stayed at $20
  4. Carlton218-879-5951 - Increased to $15 (with registration period that begins January 1, 2020 & beyond)
  5. Carver:  952-361-1910 - Stayed at $20
  6. Chisago: 651-257-1300 - Stayed at $10
  7. Clay: 218-299-5012 - Stayed at $10
  8. Cottonwood: 507-831-1458 - Stayed at $10
  9. Dakota:  651-438-8318 - Stayed at $10
  10. Dodge:  507-374-6694 - Stayed at $20
  11. Faribault:  507-526-6225 - Stayed at $10
  12. Fillmore: 507-765-4483  - Stayed at $20
  13. Freeborn: 507-377-5116 - Stayed at $10
  14. Goodhue: 651-385-3000 - Stayed at $10
  15. Hennepin: 612-348-3000 - Increased to $20 (with registration period that begins January 1, 2020 & beyond)
  16. Houston: 507-725-3925 - Stayed at $10
  17. Isanti: 763-689-1130 - Stayed at $10
  18. Itasca: 218-327-2853 - Stayed at $10
  19. Jackson: 507-847-2525 - Stayed at $10
  20. Kanabec: 320-679-6300 - Stayed at $10
  21. Kandiyohi: 320-235-3266 - Stayed at $10
  22. Lac qui Parle: 320-598-3878 - Stayed at $10
  23. Le Sueur: 507-357-2251 - Stayed at $10
  24. Lincoln: 507-694-1464 - Stayed at $10
  25. Lyon: 507-537-6724  - Stayed at $10
  26. Marshall: 218-745-4381 - Stayed at $10
  27. Martin: 507-238-3274 - Stayed at $10
  28. McLeod: 320-864-5551 - (discontinued with registration period that begins January 1, 2020 & beyond)
  29. Mille Lacs: 320-983-8218 - Stayed at $10
  30. Mower: 507-437-7718 - Stayed at $10
  31. Murray: 507-836-1152  - Stayed at $10
  32. Nicollet: 507-934-7204 - Stayed at $20
  33. Nobles: 507-295-5200 - Stayed at $10
  34. Norman: 218-784-5473 - Stayed at $10
  35. Olmsted: 507-328-7070 - Stayed at $10
  36. Otter Tail: 218-998-8473 - Stayed at $20
  37. Pennington: 218-683-7017 - Stayed at $10
  38. Pipestone:  507-825-6730  -Stayed at $15
  39. Pope: 320-634-7700 - Increased to $20 (with registration period that begins January 1, 2020 & beyond)
  40. Ramsey: 651-266-7100 - Stayed at $20
  41. Redwood: 507-637-4020 - Stayed at $10
  42. Renville: 320-523-3759 - Stayed at $10
  43. Rice: 507-332-6100 - Stayed at $20
  44. Rock: 507-283-5024 - Stayed at $10
  45. Scott:  952-496-8346 - Stayed at $10
  46. Sherburne: 763-765-3300 - Stayed at $10
  47. Sibley: 507-237-7800 - Stayed at $10
  48. Stearns: 320-656-3600 - Stayed at $10
  49. Steele: 507-444-7400 - Stayed at $20
  50. Swift: 320-314-8399 - Stayed at $10
  51. Wabasha: 651-565-2480 - Stayed at $20
  52. Waseca: 507-835-0630 - Stayed at $10
  53. Washington:  651-430-6175 - Stayed at $20
  54. Watonwan: 507-375-3393 - Stayed at $15
 

How Wheelage Tax is Collected

Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS) collects wheelage tax on behalf of those counties. The tax is due at the time of vehicle registration.
 
Wheelage tax funds are distributed to the appropriate county and are used for transportation needs, including highway preservation projects, expansion projects and transit improvement. 
 
Wheelage tax does not apply to vehicles that do not require an annual registration tax.
 
Exempt vehicles include:
• Motorcycles
• Motorized bicycles
• Trailers
• Mopeds 
If the wheelage tax is paid at the time of registration and the vehicle is moved to another county, the tax is not refunded.  
 
Questions regarding the wheelage tax can be directed to the participating counties.