AGE Logo

Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement

A Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety
 
I want to:   

What's New?


Current COVID Protocols for Bars and Restaurants under Executive Order 21-01

For the duration of Executive Order 21-01, Restaurants and Bars must operate under the following provisions, in addition to other requirements provided in this document:

  • The number of customers at any one time is limited to the number for whom social distancing of six feet can be maintained between customers in different parties.
  • Occupancy of any indoor space must not exceed 50 percent of the normal occupant capacity. The maximum capacity is not to exceed 250 people.
  • Occupancy of any outdoor space must be limited to the number for whom physical distancing of six feet can be maintained between parties at different tables. The maximum capacity is not to exceed 250 people.
  • Individual seating areas designated for shared use (e.g., food court or food hall seating) by customers of food businesses in mixed-use retail settings such as malls are limited to 50 percent of their normal occupant capacity, with a maximum of 250 seats.
  • No more than six customers may be seated together at any one time.
  • In a bar area, no more than two customers may be seated together at any one time. Social distancing of six feet must be maintained between parties seated at bars or counters.
  • Onsite dining must be closed between 11 p.m. and 4 a.m. Takeout, delivery, and other service for offsite consumption may continue during the hours that onsite dining is closed.
  • Reservations are required for onsite dining. 
  • Customers present for onsite dining must be seated at all times.

    Please see the MDH guidelines for more information.

Permit Fees Waived

​The Minnesota Legislature and Governor Walz have worked to provide economic relief to bars and restaurants impacted by COVID-19 and the subsequent Executive Orders.
 
From Jan. 1, 2021, through Dec. 31, 2021:

  • The 2 a.m. optional permit fee is waived.
  • The liquor catering permit fee is waived.

Applicants must continue to secure the appropriate approvals through their local jurisdiction and send the required applications to the Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division so that we are able to issue the permit and have it reflected in the liquor licensing database.
 
Any funds received for 2021 will be returned. We are unable to issue 2020 refunds.