Advisory Council

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​

ENSURING POLICE EXCELLENCE AND IMPROVING COMMUNITY RELATIONS ADVISORY COUNCIL 


​​The Ensuring Police Excellence and Improving Community Relations Advisory Council was established during the 2020 2nd Special Session. By statute, the 15 member Advisory Council consists of:

  • Superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (or designee)
  • Executive Director of the POST Board
  • Executive Director of the Minnesota Police and Peace officers Assoc.
  • Executive Director of the Minnesota Sheriff's Assoc.
  • Executive Director of the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Assoc.
  • 6 community members:
    • 4 representing community-speci fic boards under MN Statutes sections 15.0145 and 3.922
    • 1 advocate for victims appointed by Violence Free Minnesota
    • 1 mental health advocate appointed by Minnesota Chapter of the National Alliance on Mental illness
  • 4 members appointed by the legislature​

More information about the Advisory Council, including council members and meeting dates, will be posted here as soon as the information is available.


CURRENT MEMBERS​

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Biiftuu Adam biiftuu.adam@state.mn.us
POST Executive Director
Erik Misselt erik.misselt@state.mn.us
Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association Dave Titus david.titus@co.ramsey.mn.us
Minnesota Sheriffs Association Sheriff Sean Deringer
sean.deringer@co.wright.mn.us
Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association Chief Mike Tusken mtusken@duluthmn.gov
Minnesota Indian Affairs Council Anne Haines Holy Eagle ahaines1506@gmail.com
Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs ​Julio Zelaya
jzelaya@aclu-mn.org
Minnesota Council on Asian-Pacific Minnesotans
Eric Won
cheztruffe@gmail.com
Council for Minnesotans of African HeritageCarl Crawford
ccrawford@DuluthMN.gov
National Alliance on Mental Illness Sue Abderholden sabderholden@namimn.org
Violence Free Minnesota Nikki Engel nengel@vfmn.org 
Speaker of the House (Designee) Kaohly Her rep.kaohly.her@house.mn
House Minority Leader (Designee) Paul Novotny rep.paul.novotny@house.mn
Senate Majority Leader (Designee) Andrew Mathews sen.andrew.mathews@senate.mn
Senate Minority Leader (Designee) Cathy Spann spannhousehold1914@q.com

ANNUAL REQUIRED LEGISLATIVE REPORTS ON COUNCIL ACTIVITIES



2022 EPEICR ADVISORY COUNCIL MEETING UPCOMING DATES:

Meeting materials and agendas for the upcoming meetings are posted here as soon as available and prior to the meeting. Minutes are not a​​​vailable until approved at the following board meeting.


*Meetings are at 9:00am unless otherwise noted.


October 10, 2022



August 1, 2022





March 10, 2022 from 9:00 - 10:30 am

December 1, 2021 from 9:00 - 10:30 am





September 13, 2021 from 9:00 - 10:30 am

Agenda and Meeting Materials



August 2​, 2021 from 9:00 - 10:30 am
Meeting to be held in person at POST Board Office Board Room







February 19, 2021 from 1:00 - 2:30 pm 




December 15, 2020 from 10:00 - 11:30 am



November 17, 2020 from 10:00 - 11:30 am 





​O​ctober 14, 2020 from 10:00 - 11:30 am












​​​​​​​​