Advisory Council

​​​​​​​The Ensuring Police Excellence and Improving Community Relations Advisory Council was established during the 2020 2nd Special Session. By statute, the 15 member Advisory Council consists of:

  • Superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (or designee)

  • Executive Director of the POST Board
  • Executive Director of the Minnesota Police and Peace officers Assoc.
  • Executive Director of the Minnesota Sheriff’s Assoc.
  • Executive Director of the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Assoc.
  • 6 community members:
    • 4 representing community-specific boards under MN Statutes section 257.0768
    • 1 advocate for victims appointed by Violence Free Minnesota
    • 1 mental health advocate appointed by Minnesota Chapter of the National Alliance on Mental illness
    • 4 members appointed by the legislature

Link to the original bill: http://wdoc.house.leg.state.mn.us/leg/LS91/2_2020/HF0001.1.pdf​

Linke to technical bill and revisions: http://wdoc.house.leg.state.mn.us/leg/LS91/3_2020/HF0002.0.pdf


More information about the Advisory Council, including council members and meeting dates, will be posted here as soon as the information is available.

Current membership:

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Biiftuu Adam biiftuu.adam@state.mn.us
POST Executive Director Erik Misselt erik.misselt@state.mn.us
Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association Dave Titus david.titus@co.ramsey.mn.us
Minnesota Sheriffs Association Sheriff Sean Deringer sean.deringer@co.wright.mn.us
Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association Chief Mike Tusken mtusken@duluthmn.gov
Minnesota Indian Affairs Council Anne Haines Holy Eagle Ahaines1506@gmail.com
Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs ​Julio Zelaya
jzelaya@aclu-mn.org
Minnesota Council on Asian-Pacific Minnesotans Tsua Xiong tdxiong@gmail.com
Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage Nick Muhammad info@blackcivicnetwork.org
National Alliance on Mental Illness Sue Abderholden sabderholden@namimn.org
Violence Free Minnesota Nikki Engel nengel@vfmn.org 
Speaker of the House (Designee) Kaohly Her rep.kaohly.her@house.mn
House Minority Leader (Designee) Paul Novotny rep.paul.novotny@house.mn
Senate Majority Leader (Designee) Andrew Mathews sen.andrew.mathews@senate.mn
Senate Minority Leader (Designee) Cathy Spann spannhousehold1914@q.com

Meetings:

Meeting materials and agendas for the upcoming meetings are posted here as soon as available and prior to the meeting. Minutes are not available until approved at the following board meeting.

 

NOTE: Due to the COVID-19 emergency declared by Governor Walz, until further notice, Board Meetings will be held online. Minnesota Statutes, Section 13D.021 requires a public body to make a determination that an in-person meeting is "not practical or prudent because of a health pandemic or an emergency declared under chapter 12." At this time, the governor has declared an emergency under Minnesota Statutes, Ch. 12.​

October 14, 2020, 10:00-11:30 a.m.  Agenda​

Link to Meeting Recording: https://youtu.be/wM3chSEjKv4​​

November 17, 2020, 10:00-11:00am Agenda and Meeting Materials​

Link to Meeting Recording:​ https://youtu.be/rmd2LyVTTT8​

December 15, 2020, 10:00-11:00am Agenda and Meeting Materials​
Link to Meeting Recording: https://youtu.be/-wFY-ZOEP00​

February 19, 2021, 1:00-2:30pm Amended Agenda and Meeting Materials​

Link to Meeting Recording: https://youtu.be/kPLoEP39xag​

March 1, 2021, 9:00-10:30am Special Meeting





Link to meeting recording: https://youtu.be/Uiq3i_Rbdzc​

April 5, 2021, 9:00-10:30am

May 3, 2021, 9:00-10:30am


Link to Attend Meeting: May 3, 2021​

June 7, 2021, 9:00-10:30am

July 12, 2021, 9:00-10:30am

August 2​, 2021, 9:00-10:30am
​​​​​​​