Advisory Council

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Ensuring Police Excellence and Improving Community Relations Advisory Council was established during the 2020 2nd Special Session. By statute, the 15 member Advisory Council consists of:

  • Superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (or designee)
  • Executive Director of the POST Board
  • Executive Director of the Minnesota Police and Peace officers Assoc.
  • Executive Director of the Minnesota Sheriff's Assoc.
  • Executive Director of the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Assoc.
  • 6 community members:
    • 4 representing community-speci fic boards under MN Statutes sections 15.0145 and 3.922
    • 1 advocate for victims appointed by Violence Free Minnesota
    • 1 mental health advocate appointed by Minnesota Chapter of the National Alliance on Mental illness
  • 4 members appointed by the legislature​

Link to the original bill:​

Linke to technical bill and revisions:

More information about the Advisory Council, including council members and meeting dates, will be posted here as soon as the information is available.

Current membership:

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Biiftuu Adam
POST Executive Director Erik Misselt
Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association Dave Titus
Minnesota Sheriffs Association Sheriff Sean Deringer
Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association Chief Mike Tusken
Minnesota Indian Affairs Council Anne Haines Holy Eagle
Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs ​Julio Zelaya
Minnesota Council on Asian-Pacific Minnesotans

Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage Nick Muhammad
National Alliance on Mental Illness Sue Abderholden
Violence Free Minnesota Nikki Engel 
Speaker of the House (Designee) Kaohly Her
House Minority Leader (Designee) Paul Novotny
Senate Majority Leader (Designee) Andrew Mathews
Senate Minority Leader (Designee) Cathy Spann


Meeting materials and agendas for the upcoming meetings are posted here as soon as available and prior to the meeting. Minutes are not available until approved at the following board meeting.

December 1, 2021

September 13, 2021

Agenda and Meeting Materials

August 2​, 2021, 9:00-10:30am 
Meeting to be held in person at POST Board office Board Room

February 19, 2021, 1:00-2:30pm 

November 17, 2020, 10:00-11:00am 

​O​ctober 14, 2020, 10:00-11:30 a.m.