Advisory Council

​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​​The Ensuring Police Excellence and Improving Community Relations Advisory Council was established during the 2020 2nd Special Session. By statute, the 15 member Advisory Council consists of:

  • Superintendent of the Bureau of Criminal Apprehension (or designee)
  • Executive Director of the POST Board
  • Executive Director of the Minnesota Police and Peace officers Assoc.
  • Executive Director of the Minnesota Sheriff's Assoc.
  • Executive Director of the Minnesota Chiefs of Police Assoc.
  • 6 community members:
    • 4 representing community-speci fic boards under MN Statutes sections 15.0145 and 3.922
    • 1 advocate for victims appointed by Violence Free Minnesota
    • 1 mental health advocate appointed by Minnesota Chapter of the National Alliance on Mental illness
  • 4 members appointed by the legislature​

Link to the original bill: http://wdoc.house.leg.state.mn.us/leg/LS91/2_2020/HF0001.1.pdf​

Linke to technical bill and revisions: http://wdoc.house.leg.state.mn.us/leg/LS91/3_2020/HF0002.0.pdf


More information about the Advisory Council, including council members and meeting dates, will be posted here as soon as the information is available.

Current membership:

Bureau of Criminal Apprehension Biiftuu Adam biiftuu.adam@state.mn.us
POST Executive Director Erik Misselt erik.misselt@state.mn.us
Minnesota Police and Peace Officers Association Dave Titus david.titus@co.ramsey.mn.us
Minnesota Sheriffs Association Sheriff Sean Deringer sean.deringer@co.wright.mn.us
Minnesota Chiefs of Police Association Chief Mike Tusken mtusken@duluthmn.gov
Minnesota Indian Affairs Council Anne Haines Holy Eagle Ahaines1506@gmail.com
Minnesota Council on Latino Affairs ​Julio Zelaya
jzelaya@aclu-mn.org
Minnesota Council on Asian-Pacific Minnesotans Tsua Xiong tdxiong@gmail.com
Council for Minnesotans of African Heritage Nick Muhammad info@blackcivicnetwork.org
National Alliance on Mental Illness Sue Abderholden sabderholden@namimn.org
Violence Free Minnesota Nikki Engel nengel@vfmn.org 
Speaker of the House (Designee) Kaohly Her rep.kaohly.her@house.mn
House Minority Leader (Designee) Paul Novotny rep.paul.novotny@house.mn
Senate Majority Leader (Designee) Andrew Mathews sen.andrew.mathews@senate.mn
Senate Minority Leader (Designee) Cathy Spann spannhousehold1914@q.com

Meetings:

Meeting materials and agendas for the upcoming meetings are posted here as soon as available and prior to the meeting. Minutes are not available until approved at the following board meeting.

 

O​ctober 14, 2020, 10:00-11:30 a.m.  

November 17, 2020, 10:00-11:00am 

December 15, 2020, 10:00-11:00am 
Link to Meeting Recording​
Approved Meeting Minutes​​

February 19, 2021, 1:00-2:30pm 

March 1, 2021, 9:00-10:30am Special Meeting

April 5, 2021, 9:00-10:30am


May 3, 2021, 9:00-10:30am​


June 7, 2021, 9:00-10:30am


July 12, 2021, 9:00-10:30am
​Agenda and Materials​


​August 2​, 2021, 9:00-10:30am Meeting to be held in person at POST Board office Board Room

​​​​​​​September 13, 2021

Agenda and Meeting Materials