DVS Logo

Driver and Vehicle Services

A Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety

Driver's License Information

​​​​​​Learn about Driver's License for AllDriver's license and ID card identification requirements​:

Find general information for the following driving priviliges:

Standard Minnesota driver's licenses
​The written class D knowledge test requires an appointment. Schedule online at drive.mn.gov. Commercial​ knowledge tests, motorcycle knowledge tests and all other types of knowledge tests do not require an appointment; they are available on a walk-in basis. Please check with your local exam station for testing times.
If you have had a name change but have not updated your name change with the Social Security Administration, you must do so prior to applying for any driver's license or identification card type.

Class D

A Class D License is a regular driver's license required to operate a vehicle weighing 26,000 pounds or less. It is the most common type of driver's license.

New Drivers

Minnesota has a Graduated Driver’s Licensing System designed to ease inexperienced drivers into the driving environment. Choose an age group below to learn more about the process.


A valid Minnesota driver’s license is required to obtain a motorcycle instruction permit. An instruction permit has restrictions and allows motorcyclists to practice riding on public roadways to become familiar with the motorcycle and its controls.

Every person who operates a motorcycle on public roads in Minnesota must have a valid driver’s license with the appropriate instruction permit or license endorsement. Motorcyclists must carry these documents with them when riding on public roadways.

Commercial Driver - Class A

A Class A License is required to drive any vehicle towing a unit of more than 10,000 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating with a gross combination weight rating (truck plus trailer) over 26,000 pounds.

Commercial Driver - Class B

A Class B License is required to drive any single-unit vehicle that is over 26,000 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating.

Commercial Driver - Class C

A Class C License is required to drive a single-unit vehicle, 26,000 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating or less, with one or more endorsement for hazardous materials, passenger, or school bus (with passenger endorsement).

Enhanced Driver's License (EDL)

In February 2014, the State of Minnesota became the fifth state to offer an Enhanced Driver’s License (EDL) and Enhanced Identification Card (EID).
What is an EDL card?
It is a dual-purpose, optional card designed for the user's convenience. In addition to serving as a typical driver's license, the card allows a Minnesota resident to re-enter the U.S. at its land or seaports when returning from Canada, Mexico, Bermuda or the Caribbean. This flexibility speeds your passage back across the border. They verify your identity and citizenship–no other proof is required. EDL cards are among the federally-approved border-crossing documents required under the Western Hemisphere Travel Initiative (WHTI). An EDL is also available to a Minnesota driver who qualifies for a commercial driver license (CDL).


Can't find what you're looking for?