Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

What's New?

  Stop Previous Next

Repeat Offenders of Texting Law Face Higher Fine Beginning August 1

​Drivers who repeatedly choose texting over safety while behind the wheel risk a higher fine for violating the law beginning August 1. Under the enhanced law, drivers face a $225 fine for second and subsequent violations of the texting while driving law, in addition to the current $50 fine.

Minnesota Motorcycle Road Guard Law Effective August 4

​Certified motorcycle “road guards” will be able to stop and control traffic for large motorcycle group-rides in Minnesota beginning August 4.  The Motorcycle Road Guard Law, passed by the legislature and signed into law in 2012, is designed to help motorists and motorcyclists safely share the road during group rides.

How You’ll Know What To Do When Disaster Strikes

​When disaster strikes your city or county, every second counts. The sooner you know what’s going on, the better your chances of survival. One of the newest tools in the public safety arsenal is a locally issued, wireless emergency alert that will go to newer-model cell phones. It’s going to change the way you find out when, where, how and why emergency action is necessary. Learn more in our blog.

Traffic Fatalities Lowest Since World War II

Minnesota traffic fatalities dropped to 361 last year, the lowest since World War II when 356 people lost their lives in 1944. In addition, traffic fatalities are down 66 percent since 1968 when Minnesota reached an all-time record of 1,060 deaths.

While progress is being made, it’s been a difficult start to 2015 as fatalities to date are outpacing reported numbers from a  year ago. Motorists must commit to being safe drivers by paying attention, buckling up, obeying the speed limit and planning for a sober ride.

 

Keeping Our Roads Safe is Simple

​Do your part:
 
1. Pay attention. Put the phone down and focus on the road.
 2. Slow down and obey the speed limit.
 3. Drive sober.
 4. Buckle up.
 
Learn more about last year’s crashes in Minnesota in Crash Facts 2014.

​Call 811 Before You Dig

Take the time to call 811 before you dig or place a sign in the ground. Call 811 first so you don’t have to call 911 later. Or go to the GSOC website at www.gopherstateonecall.org and request underground utilities near the area you’re digging be marked.


Video Description: The Department of Public Safety held a media availability to discuss the increased fine for texting and driving. The new law was passed by the Legislature earlier this year and signed by Governor Mark Dayton. It takes effect on August 1.