Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
I want to:   

What's New?

Illegal IDs and Alcohol Purchases

​Homecoming, Halloween and fall celebrations are all exciting times for our youth, but alcohol establishments across the state need to be on the look-out for minors trying to purchase alcohol for their celebrations. EDL U21 ID.jpg






 It is illegal for anyone to:

  • Use or possess a fake driver’s license to purchase alcohol.
  • Lend a driver’s license to another to obtain alcohol.
  • Display another person’s driver’s license to obtain alcohol.
  • Alter a driver’s license.

AGED reminds establishments to ID every customer ordering alcohol every time.

Any establishment confiscating an illegal ID must turn it over to law enforcement within 24 hours.

And with Halloween approaching, establishments have the right to ask a person to remove a mask for identification purposes.

The Cost of Supplying Alcohol to Minors

​As college students across Minnesota go back to school, those who are 21-years-old or who will turn 21 during the year, could be pressured into buying alcohol for their friends. Supplying alcohol 2.jpg
Supplying alcohol to a person under 21-years-old can result in up to a year in jail and up to a $3,000 fine.

Those who provide alcohol to a minor can also face civil liability in cases of injury, property damage or death.

A driver cited for underage drinking can face up to 90 days in jail and/or a $1,000 fine.

If an adult provides alcohol to an underage person who is killed or injured or kills or injures someone else, the alcohol supplier  they can be charged with a felony and face prison time.

​Featured Video

Video Description: The Minnesota Department of Public Safety Alcohol and Gambling Enforcement Division (DPS-AGED) works with Native American tribes to ensure compliance with the state-tribal agreements so that gaming is fair for all. Check out the latest video in the DPS MIC'D UP series that shows the inspection process and how slot machines are regulated in Minnesota.