Recent Driver and Vehicle Services News
Weather-related closures for April 4, 2014
Due to weather and road conditions, driver evaluators will not be available at the North Metro and South Metro locations today. Driver evaluators are available all day in Town Square (St. Paul) and West Metro locations, and available after 12 p.m. at the Midtown location.
St. Paul Como Vehicle Inspection Site Move
On March 31, 2014, the St. Paul vehicle inspection site at 365 Como Avenue will move to 222 Starkey Street in St. Paul. The new vehicle inspection site is approximately three miles from the current site, located off Plato Boulevard, between Wabasha Avenue and Robert Street.
Visitors are highly encouraged to use the Wabasha Avenue route rather than Robert Street to avoid being delayed by trains.
The Como Ave. vehicle inspection site will continue to inspect vehicles during the move. Vehicle inspections will be held at the new location beginning Tuesday, April 1. From now through Monday, March 31, vehicle inspections will be conducted at the current Como Avenue site.
Customers arriving at the new vehicle inspection site at 222 Starkey Street are to park in the large parking lot and walk into the office. Parking is not allowed in the small lot adjacent to the building.
Enhanced Driver's License and Identification Cards Now Available
Minnesotans can now apply for an enhanced version of their driver’s license
or identification card
. The enhanced cards allow re-entry into the United States from Canada, Mexico, Bermuda or the Caribbean through land and sea ports.
To qualify you must be a U.S. citizen, a Minnesota resident and at least 16 years old. For more information or to learn how to apply, read the news
New Public Safety Laws Take Effect Jan. 1
Minnesotans will see changes in some DPS transactions in the New Year.
Among the changes are an increase in driver’s license filing fees
for Minnesota driver’s license, identification card and Class D instruction permit holders, a Wheelage Tax increase
for some Minnesota vehicle owners and scrap vehicle operators being required to install and maintain video cameras at each location.
Laws affecting DVS
- Upon approval by the county government, Wheelage Tax increase from $5 to $10. The collection of Wheelage tax is also expanded to any county statewide that wants to participate.
- Scrap vehicle operators are required to install and maintain a video camera or still digital surveillance camera at each location capturing a clear and readily identifiable image of the face of each seller of a scrap vehicle as well as a photograph the seller's vehicle, including the license plate.
- The driver’s license filing fees increases from $5 to $8.
Affected Driver License Transactions:
- First time and renewal driver’s license (all classes)
- Duplicate driver’s license (all classes)
- Identification card (all types)
- Class D instruction permit
Update: One-third of Commercial Drivers Have Yet to Comply With State, Federal Law
Of Minnesota’s approximately 250,000 Commercial Driver’s License (CDL) holders, nearly 82,000 have yet to comply with federal and state regulations, which require providing self-certification of their commercial driving status and, in some cases, proper medical documentation. These commercial drivers could lose their driving privileges if they don’t take action by the end of January. Read the news
Commercial Drivers Required to Certify by January 2014
Commercial drivers must provide a self-certification form
to maintain valid driving privileges. The deadline to complete a self-certification form is Jan. 30, 2014.
Commercial drivers engaging in non-exempt interstate and intrastate drivers must provide a current medical examiner’s certification along with any waivers required in addition to the self-certification form to maintain commercial driver status. Exempt interstate and intrastate drivers do not need to provide a medical examiner’s certificate but do need to complete a self-certification form. The deadline to provide all documentation is Jan. 30, 2014.
Wheelage Tax Increase Effective Jan. 1, 2014
Effective January 1, 2014, the Minnesota Wheelage Tax will increase to $10 and will be imposed annually on motor vehicles registered in counties that have approved the tax. There are 43 counties that have notified DVS that they will impose the tax, in addition to four counties that already impose the tax. Anoka County, which currently has the Wheelage Tax, will discontinue the tax beginning January 1.
How to request an audit on access of your driver’s license information
Complete and submit the Audit Request Form
to Driver and Vehicle Services, Data Services. Read more
on requesting an audit of your driver's license or motor vehicle information.
School is back in session, meaning it's time to refresh on important safety tips
Drivers must stop at least 20 feet from a school bus that is displaying red flashing lights and/or its stop arm is extended when approaching from the rear and from the opposite direction on undivided roads.
Drivers should scan the road and sidewalks ahead for pedestrians and be prepared to stop for those crossing. If you're walking, clearly show your intent to cross, use cross walks, obey signals and continue to look for traffic as you cross.
Riders should wear helmets and reflective gear, and use lights. Riders should ride with traffic and obey signals. Drivers must check blind spots for riders and give them room to ride safely, and use caution when opening a door after parking on the side of the road.
State Traffic Deaths Top 200 Deaths for the Year
The website “MinnesotaDriversLicense.org” is a private business organization and is in no way affiliated with the Driver and Vehicle Services Division of the Department of Public Safety. You are not able to renew your drivers license or register your vehicle on this website! The website charges a fee to purchase a guide, not a license.
To renew your license, register your vehicle, and other service, you must visit an official DVS agent or deputy registrar’s office. Do not pay money for license renewals, tabs, or other services to any unauthorized organization.
2013 Legislative Change to Gifting of Motor Vehicles Between Individuals
A statutory change made by the 2013 legislature resulted in a significant change to the sales tax exemption concerning the gifting of motor vehicles between individuals. Beginning July 1, 2013, gifts of vehicles between individuals is not exempt from motor vehicle sales tax, with the exception of:
- parent and child (step parent is considered parent) – however if a sale occurs between parent and child, sales tax is collected on the purchase price. If the child takes over payment of the loan, sales tax is due on the amount of the remaining loan.
- grandparent and grandchild
- guardian and ward, when the vehicle was titled in the name of the guardian, as guardian only, because the ward was a minor
- foster parent and foster child (M.S. 297B.01 Subd. 8), exempt if the home is or was licensed under Minnesota Rules Chapters 9545.0010 to 9545.0260 and the child was a ward of the state or in permanent foster care
Consumer Alert: Telemarketers Make False Claims About DVS Information
Do not be fooled by misleading telemarketers claiming to be representatives from Driver and Vehicle Services. The claims are false and the information about the solicitations has been forwarded to the Minnesota Attorney General.
For more information about the solicitations and consumer warning, read the news release
from the Department of Public Safety.
- To find out when your title will be issued, go to the Title Issuing Schedule
and find a statement like this: As of June 11, 2012 DVS is working on title applications received on approximately March 9, 2012.
This statement on the Title Issuing Schedule
page is updated every Monday to reflect the latest date for title application processing.
- Once you apply for your title and have the “Application to Title/Register a Vehicle” in your possession, it is not necessary to have the actual title unless you intend to sell the vehicle.
- If for some reason (such as an impending sale) you absolutely must receive your vehicle title sooner than the DVS schedule indicates, go to our Fast Track Fact Sheet
and follow the instructions.
Starting July 1, 2012, Technology Surcharge Will Be Reduced By 75 Cents
Effective July 1, 2012, Minnesota’s $1.75 Technology Fee, applied to many driver and vehicle services transactions for several years to help pay for Driver and Vehicle Services technology upgrades, will be reduced to $1. Thus, several driver and vehicle transactions will reflect a new fee.
Commercial Driver License Medical Self-Certification
Starting January 30, 2012, if you hold a commercial driver’s license (CDL) or are applying for a CDL, you will need to certify the following information with Driver and Vehicle Services (DVS):
The type of driving you are engaged in (interstate or intrastate)
Whether you are subject to, or exempt from the medical examination requirements of 49 CFR part 391 or Minnesota Statutes, chapter 221
For more information on Commercial Driver License Medical Self-certification, refer to the CDL Medical Self-Certification Page.