is enabled and that cookies are turned on.
Each category (like About the DPS), has multiple sub-categories. To browse these
categories, please click on the links in the global navigation bar, and you will
be presented with these links.
If you have any questions, please see the Help Section or contact us.
We apologize for any inconvenience.
Back to Search Steps
As an Active Duty military personnel, you may qualify to upgrade your license to a Commercial Class A license. Your license must be current to upgrade and/or add endorsements. The upgrade is pending the completion of specific knowledge (written) tests, an acceptable Military CDL (Skills) Road Test Waiver (PS30320) and a Verification of Military Experience and Training (VMET) document. The VMET document can be obtained at www.dmdc.osd.mil.
You are allowed up to one year after discharge to upgrade your license. You must present a current military ID or DD214 papers.
Class A — Any vehicle towing a unit of more than 10,000 pounds Gross Vehicle Weight Rating with a gross combination weight rating (truck plus trailer) over 26,000 pounds.
Complete the Military CDL Road Test Waiver (PS30320).
Pass the required Knowledge (written) Tests: You will take one or more CDL knowledge tests, depending on class of license and endorsements, in order to upgrade with a Military CDL Road Test Waiver.
Present a Verification of Military Experience and Training (VMET) document: obtained at www.dmdc.osd.mil.
To add a Motorcycle Endorsement – see Military Motorcycle Endorsement Information Sheet.
If your Minnesota CDL was valid at the time you entered the military, you are not required to do anything further until you are discharged. We recommend that you notify us of your military status.
Send a written statement and a copy of your military ID card with your service entry date or a letter from your commanding officer verifying your service entry date and active duty status to: Driver and Vehicle Services, 445 Minnesota Street, St. Paul, MN 55101.
Refer to the Complete Driver’s License Fee Page to see all fees, including endorsement and reinstatement fees.
Minnesota Statute 171.13 subd 1a
49 CFR 383.77
Military CDL Skills (Road) Test Waiver (PS30320)
Vision Report (Vision Screening) (PS30338)
Minnesota Commercial Driver's License Manual
Motor Carrier Safety Improvement Act
Military Motorcycle Endorsement Information Sheet
Minnesota Motorcycle Manual
Minnesota Motorcycle Manual (2 page print format)
Expedited (Fast Track) Driver's License - Just the Facts
I am currently out of state, can I add a motorcycle endorsement to my current Minnesota driver’s license?
Yes. If you passed comparable knowledge (written) and skills (road) tests in another state, you may submit proof. See Military Motorcycle Endorsement Information Sheet.
Can I add a Passenger or School Bus Endorsement to my current Minnesota driver’s license?
Only by passing the knowledge (written) test(s) and the skills (road) test in a vehicle that qualifies for these endorsements. See the School Bus Endorsement Page for more information.
Effective January 1, 2014, the driver’s license filing fee which pays for the costs of the services provided in the driver’s license/ID card issuance process, increases from $5 to $8, as required by Minn. Stat. 171.061, HF 1444, Chapter 117.
Driver and Vehicle Services – Central OfficeTown Square Building445 Minnesota Street, Suite 190Saint Paul, MN 55101-5190
DVS Office Locations
CDL Endorsements and Restrictions Page
CDL Disqualification Page
Motor Carrier Information Page
School Bus Endorsement Page