Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
 
DVS Logo

Driver and Vehicle Services

A Division of the Minnesota Department of Public Safety
 

COVID-19 FAQs

Quick Links to Top Questions Minnesotans Are Asking

 
 

 

My driver’s license is expiring but all DVS offices are closed due to COVID-19 – are you planning on granting extensions?

 

Gov. Walz signed a bill into law March 28 that provides an extension for Minnesotans whose driver's licenses or ID cards expire during the peacetime emergency. 

The law extends the expiration date for any valid driver's license, instruction permit, provisional license, operator's permit, limited license, and farm work license that would expire during the peacetime emergency. The expiration dates for these licenses will be extended for two months after the month the peacetime emergency ends. 

If you have already pre-applied at drive.mn.gov, your application will stay in the DPS-DVS system for 30 days.

 

 

My vehicle tabs will expire soon but all offices are closed due to COVID-19 – are you planning on granting extensions?

 

Minnesotans will still be able to renew vehicle registrations online, by mail and at some deputy registrar offices during the peacetime emergency. As such, there are no extensions for expired or expiring vehicle registrations.

  • Renew vehicle registration for a car, pickup under 1 ton or SUV online at drive.mn.gov.
    • US Bank charges a separate service fee of 2.49% for all credit card transactions. ACH (electronic check) payments have a separate service fee of $1.50. DPS-DVS does not determine or collect these service fees for online registration renewals.
  • Mail your vehicle registration by sending the bottom half of your renewal notice with your check or money order made payable to DVS Renewal to:
    • DVS Renewal
    • PO Box 64587
    • St. Paul, MN 55164-0587
  • Call your local deputy registrar office to find out if they are offering vehicle registration renewal. No face-to-face transactions or driver services are available but some are offering limited vehicle services. You can find a list of open locations on the DVS office locations page.​ They are listed on the right side of the page. 
 
Minnesotans have until the last day of the expiration month to renew their vehicle registration. They must display their registration stickers by the 10th of the following month. 

 For example, Minnesotans whose vehicle registration expires in April have until April 30 to renew their registration and until May 10 to display the new stickers on their license plates.
 
DVS will continue to receive and process mailed renewals, deposit checks and mail license plates and stickers to customers.
 

 

Will the Oct. 1, 2020 federal REAL ID enforcement date be extended?

 
The U.S. Department of Homeland Security (DHS) is extending the REAL ID full enforcement deadline to Oct. 1, 2021.
 
The deadline was originally set for Oct. 1, 2020, but is being delayed by one year due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
"The federal, state and local response to the spread of the Coronavirus here in the United States necessitates a delay in this deadline," Acting DHS Secretary Chad Wolf said in a statement. "Our state and local partners are working tirelessly with the Administration to flatten the curve and, therefore, we want to remove any impediments to response and recovery efforts."
 
Many DVS exam stations, deputy registrar and driver's license agent offices have closed or limited services due to COVID-19 concerns.

 

My driver’s license is expiring but my local office is closed due to COVID-19. Can I complete a Snowbird packet to renew my license?

 

Snowbird procedures cannot be used to renew your license if you are living in Minnesota, per state law. ​

 

Gov. Walz signed a bill into law March 28 that provides an extension for Minnesotans whose driver's licenses or ID cards expire during the peacetime emergency. 

 

The law extends the expiration date for any valid driver's license, instruction permit, provisional license, operator's permit, limited license, and farm work license that would expire during the peacetime emergency. The expiration dates for these licenses will be extended for two months after the month the peacetime emergency ends. 

 

DPS-DVS will provide an update once the bill is signed.

 

 

How is COVID-19 impacting road tests?

 
DPS-DVS cancelled all road tests March 18-27, and extended road test cancellations through April 10 due to COVID-19 concerns. Anyone who has a class D, commercial driver's license (CDL) or motorcycle road test appointment scheduled during this time received a cancellation notice by email or text message.
Any customer whose appointment is cancelled due to COVID-19 concerns will be given priority for rescheduling once road testing resumes. DPS-DVS will call, email or text those affected to offer the first available day and time for their road test once normal operations resume. 
 

 
 

Can I still contact DVS with questions while DVS offices are closed?

DPS-DVS staff will continue to be available to answer questions submitted to DVS using the driver and vehicle services contact forms:

DPS-DVS Public Information Center staff will also be answering phone calls during its normal Monday-Friday business hours, but staff will be very limited March 30 - April 10, so it may be difficult to get through.
 

 ​
 

Can I apply for or transfer a vehicle title while DVS offices are closed?

New federal guidelines allow deputy registrar offices to provide limited motor vehicle services if they choose. No face-to-face transactions or driver services are available. Find a list of open locations on the right side of the DVS locations page, and call your local office before you visit to find out what services they are offering. 
 
Minnesotans can also complete a title application or transfer by submitting their application by mail to DPS-DVS; however, staff is unable to process any title applications sent by mail while offices are closed. Staff will process these applications once offices reopen. 

To submit a title application by mail, Minnesotans should contact DVS by calling (651) 297-2126 or using the vehicle services contact forms. They will need to provide the VIN and plate number, what they paid for the vehicle and their contact information. DVS will provide the correct fee information, and a person can complete the title application form and following mailing instructions to submit their application and payment. 
 
Any title applications submitted through a deputy registrar office prior to March 27 are being processed. 
 
DPS-DVS recommends keeping a copy of the title transfer or title application for their records. ​
​​​​​
 

 
 

Are deputy registrar offices reopening?

 
New federal guidelines allow deputy registrar offices to provide limited motor vehicle services if they choose to reopen beginning April 6. No face-to-face transactions or driver services are available. Find a list of open locations on the right side of the DVS locations page, and call your local office before you visit to see what services they are offering. Not all offices may offer the type of services you need.
 
Types of services allowed (services will vary by location):
  • Registration renewals
  • Title transfers
  • Duplicate titles
  • Vehicle permits
  • Special plate applications
  • New to fleet title/registration applications
  • Dealer work
  • International Registration Plan (IRP) and International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) at Prorate offices only
All DPS-DVS exam stations and driver's license agent offices will remain closed for the duration of Gov. Walz's executive order. 
 

​​​


 
 

How is COVID-19 impacting vehicle inspections?

DPS-DVS cancelled vehicle inspection appointments March 27-April 10, because all inspection sites are closed due to COVID-19 concerns. Anyone who has an appointment scheduled during this time received a cancellation notice by email. 

Any customer whose appointment was cancelled due to COVID-19 concerns will be given priority for rescheduling once vehicle inspections resume. DPS-DVS will call or email those affected to offer the first available day and time for their vehicle inspections when sites reopen. 

 
​​